We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place and Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Butz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Butz
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
madison, wi
Level Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Place and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We have stayed here 3 times over the last 15 years and recommended it to many friends. The place is clean, in the heart of things and has a great resturant. It is not fancy but is the real Germany. A place with rooms upstairs (there is no elevator) and a resturant below. It is well maintained and has been in the same family for 100 years. Our room and bathroom were large and very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As mentioned parking is about a 5 min walk in a public lot. There is short term parking in front. English is spoken as in most of Rothenburg. If you want a nice, clean place in the midde of the city at a reasonable price this is it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiMadcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    53
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
34
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Nothin' fancy, but I wasn't looking for that. Just needed a clean and nice place to sleep while I went sight-seeing in this amazing little town full of beautiful streets and buildings and history and architecture... Great value for the price. Bathroom had a couple amenities which sufficed. Free, light breakfast; English-speaking (well enough, anyway) staff. Cool beer garden out back. Cable TV. Apparently VERY popular lunch with the locals. I didn't have it, but it was PACKED for lunch! Also, I liked building. Stiars, yes --and no elevator, but it didn't bother me. Beautiful winding staircase. Someone obviously cares about this place.. Will upload some photos later if I can.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieAnn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Great value for the price. The hotel does NOT have an elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage it can be a problem. Also, the parking is not right next to the hotel. You need to park in a public parking lot nearby (rate is 2 euro a night). It is a 3 min walk, but if you attempt to drive to the hotel (which I did) it can be extremely confusing. It's only one block away from the town hall. The restaurant has very good food although the menu is somewhat limited.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

My wife and I only stayed one night in Rothenburg, but we could have stayed ALOT longer. Gasthof Butz is in a neat old building that used to be a brewery and is very quaint and very accommodating. It is located just one block from the main square so it is very centrally located in the heart of this cool medieval town. Our room was very nice, and the bathroom looked like it had recently been updated. There is a nice restaurant on the first level, and a nice traditional German breakfast included with your stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l_grein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

Stayed twice in May 08. First time with our adult son and two weeks later just the two of us. Our first visit was a bit nicer due to the larger room, and VERY nice bathroom. The second visit was their standard double room, but had a very weird shower set up. (half a door, half a tiny tub -- sprayed everywhere -- just weird.) Rooms were very clean and fairly spacious. Peter isn't the friendliest guy in the world but efficient and orderly. Breakfast was typical B&B style- fairly good, we ate dinner on one of their patios before heading off to the Nightwatchman's Tour (a MUST see), and it was very good. The Butz's location is excellent - 1/2 block down a narrow street to the main square. Triple was 82E, and later the double was 70E.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, room size, bathroom size and updated design
  • Disliked — second visit the bathroom was very small with a tiny shower
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RND22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#41 of 47 in Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#11 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Butz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Butz

Property: Gasthof Butz
Address: Kapellenplatz 4, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,922 - ₹ 7,828
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthof Butz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing