We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ambiance, Great Sevice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Spitzweg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Spitzweg
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance, Great Sevice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The place is just charming! The decor is great. It looks and feels like it should, like a bed in breakfast in a village from an age since past. Check out the "deconstructed" coo coo clock in the dining room. I could just watch this clock's movements all day.
The location is perfect, but that said, anything inside the walls is just as good of a location.
The proprietor is a wonderful gentleman who was very helpful. It was fun to just sit an chat a bit with him. He is very welcoming person, and truly makes this place. He was kind enough to share a bit of his home-made schnapps with us (and it was delicious!). He made excellent recommendations on where to go for sites/food etc as well.
Breakfast was awesome if you are into the whole German cold cuts thing...and I am! Fresh bread, assorted hams and salami, cheese, some fruit, whats not to like? Eggs and bacon/sausage were served as well.
On the downside, there is no internet. This seems to be in line with other establishments in the area, so internet is not really expected...but would be really nice.
Bed sleep quality was not the greatest. This was not unique to this hotel. We did not find a decent mattress in all of Germany. Maybe we are just used to a different type of mattress than they use in Germany?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bopfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    97
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
80
260
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I have stayed in this traditional hotel several times. We also have taken our grown children (20's) on a family vacation and stayed here. To be honest we love this hotel and the owner, Herr Hockner. The hotel is lovely with large bathrooms and comfortable beds and very clean. The hotel is easy to find (look at the map on the hotel's website or use a GPS) and the location is perfect for sightseeing. There is free parking in the back of the hotel. The breakfasts that Herr Hockner prepares are the best with plenty meat, cheeses, fruit, bread and eggs. We have even used this hotel as a base to visit Christmas markets in Bamberg, Nurnenburg and Heidelberg. There is nothing to complain about, in fact, I would live here if I could!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somerleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel reminds me of the story about an old maid who lived in a shoe house. Authentic and traditional. The house was built in 1536. It escaped the wars and the turbulent years. So, the wood trusses on the ceiling and the walls are original. It was converted into a hotel in 1984.

The amenities, however, are modern. There is a bathtub, with good hot water and heater in the bathroom. There is an LCD TV and a small transistor radio. (I discover that a lot of hotels in Germany provide a radio in the room. Do Germans like listening to the radio throughout their stay in hotels?)

Our room was on the highest floor, we had to climb three flights of steep staircase to get to the room. It may not be a problem for me, but it may be a deterrent for others. So, it may be a good idea to get rooms at lower floors.

At the breakfast table, the cold cuts were served on a silver platter on each table, making it very homely and comfortable. The host was exceptionally merry with the guests. I think it was because we are Asians, he let us taste his home-made mango chutney. It was the best mango chutney we had ever eaten. And of course, made in Germany.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We have been there twice, once in July and back for Christhmas. Nice rooms, with traditional decoration. And excellent breakfast. The host is very present, everytime you need. He made us sandwiches the las day.
Good location, also. In 5 minutes you're at the town hall by feet. Great +: you don't have to worry about tha car, they have parking places in the backyard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very central to Rothenburg, and great that there is car parking on site. We felt that we were not given as much attention from the owner as we had been lead to believe would occur from other comments, and found out the following day why this had been the case -- he had been scrabbling around to find & have delivered, the passport of another guest who had lost/ left it in Franfurt.

Rothenburg was charming, but a bit more assistance in finding the sort of restaurant that we were looking for would have been appreciated. All was well in the end though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 km away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spitzweg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spitzweg

Property: Hotel Spitzweg
Address: Paradeisgasse 2, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,380 - ₹ 11,728
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spitzweg 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spitzweg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing