We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're kidding, 8 euro for 2 hours of wifi?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #27 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You're kidding, 8 euro for 2 hours of wifi?”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Even though the staff is very nice, there are PLENTY of other hotels that are in better locations, with better views, that are inside the city wall and that also have free wifi. We are paying way too much here for what we are getting. Being a "Preferred Starwood Member" you would think they would throw in a perk such as a room with a view of the Old Town (and, again, some WiFi)! Yet we cannot even open our curtains without looking directly into the property next door. I would not recommend this hotel nor stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear doctorGo
I am very disappointed to read your comments. You as a SPG member should value all the benefits you receive as a SPG member. I have the feeling, that the charge of 8.00 Euros for wifi have upset you so much, that you give such an unfair comment. Our location is just great and when you read the comments from others it is hard to deny that I am true.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    395
    166
    34
    35
See reviews for
145
361
102
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

historical place with a fantastic service..staff was very helpful and location is great

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear 78
thank you for your positive comments. We love to hear that you liked the location and the friendliness of all employees at the Grand Hotel. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

There is not too much wrong about this hotel. Its centrally located opposite the central station, nice interior and quality rooms. The trouble is its so expensive , we paid 360 euros for standard room for one night and breakfast is extra 22 euros.We did only book a few weeks ahead and there was an exhibition on in the city at the time so they make the most of that. My preference is for the NHT hotel nearby if available.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Totham
I am pleased to hear, that in general, you liked the hotel apart from the price you paid. We as hoteliers do what any other business does as well, The price strategy is very closely linked to supply and demand. The best example I can give you are the airlines. Whenever there are school holidays, the price is doubling or tripling, that is a fact and there is nothing to be angry about. The breakfast price remains the same during the entire year, therefore we offer much more then most of our colleagues. Why you do not try us during low season? We are more then happy to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is conveniently located across the road from the main train station.
Whilst the staff was excellent, we found the room to be very small.
The hotel also only has one lift which was occupied a lot.
Overall, a good place to stay

Room Tip: Dont rely on the hotel brochures claiming the room is over 30sqm - they are indeed very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ampalsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear ma_admin
Great to hear that you found the location of the hotel convenient and that you describe the staff as excellent. Thank you for that. You are right, some of the rooms are smaller then others, this has something to do with the history of the building. The hotel was built in 1896 and those days the demands were different then now a days. Also sorry to hear, that you did not explore our second lift. I have instructed my Front Office Manager to make our guests aware of this. Thanks again for your positive report.
Best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The staff made my stay very enjoyable. Every individual was attentive and pleasant. This hotel is conveniently located across the street from the main train station, which made it easy to get just about anywhere. I traveled by train to the Messe (convention center) daily, and it was extremely to take the train to the airport at the end of my trip. This is an old hotel that has been elegantly updated. Quite expensive from U.S. standards. The room was a little small, and the bathroom was large. I requested a quiet room, so mine overlooked the small courtyard. Very quiet and comfortable. I received an iron and ironing board upon request, but no coffee maker, as we have in every U.S. hotel room. There was a clock, but no alarm. Wake up calls are easy to request. Overall, I was very happy with my experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet, although you do not get any view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
859 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#29 of 126 in Nuremberg
121 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Property: Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,214 - ₹ 21,857
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing