We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and affordable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nymphenburger Hof

Nymphenburger Hof
Ranked #343 of 3,648 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic and affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

The food was authentic German (Bavarian) and the servings were just right. The seating in the yard, under old trees, was perfect.
Though I spoke German the waitress made an effort and spoke English to my wife and kids who didn't understand the german language.
Thumps up.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaitirawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    12
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice food, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We had dinner in the courtyard, which is nice and summery. We arrived early and the service was very good for the first half hour, after which more people arrived and things slowed down dramatically. This place is relatively upmarket, so many people were fairly dressed up.

We had the ox cheeks with noodles and celery purée, which was very tasty, as was the deer with cranberry sauce. For dessert we had the creme brûlée and the apricot dumplings. We asked for a wine recommendation and were provided with a fairly nice Austrian red.

Unfortunately, it turned out the red was €58, which really didn't seem worth it. The total bill for our 4 dishes was around €150.

While the food was nice, I'm not sure it was good value for the money.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Blahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantistic taste, authentic dishes, excelent wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We had a great evening at this restaurant. Very much enjoyed the daily set menu (they have an a-la-carte menu list too). The food was fresh, balanced, authentic and very tastefull. But the wines that were served with the menu courses really made the experience very special. We enjoyed some of the best Austrian wines. At only 25 euros extra, you should not think twice and enjoy the excellent wines suggested by the staff! We will most certainly come back to this place!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted.van.der.Veen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
168 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Arguably the best Austrian-Bavarian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We have been at this restaurant several dozens of times, and were never disappointed! The menu changes regularly with a perfect blend of Austrian and Bavarian dishes, all prepared freshly. The set menu varies by-weekly and the kitchen has a lot of patience and sympathy for individual alterations. The wine list comprises mostly of Austrian wines, and the owner is extremly knowledgable and would always recommend the perfect wine matching your dish and your wallet. The service is impeccable, if not the best in entire Munich. In summer you can sit outside, and you will want to come back as as often as you possibly can!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our favoured restaurant in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

We have been going here several times per year for many years and have always been amazed by the outstanding food, the friendly and welcoming service, and the entire experience. The food is Austrian/Bavarian with a strong, modern international influence. The set menus (optional with wine pairings) are particularly excellent and the cellar has an outstanding selection of the finest Austrian wines. The atmosphere is elegant but not stuffy at all. In summer you can sit in the beautiful garden. This is the place to go to experience authentic yet elegant Munich dining away from the boring everyplace fare.

  • Visited March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElsiePalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nymphenburger Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Nymphenburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing