We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, IL 60201
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Lovely hotel. Attentive staff. We had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The hotel is located just a short walking distance from the main train station from which many day tours originated. It was super convenient.

There was no coffee pot/ tea kettle or an iron and ironing board in the room. I am used to these items being standard in a nice hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafoxdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the online portal Tripadvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Regarding your personal wish to have coffee and tea facilities in our guest rooms, I would kindly like to inform you that due to hygienically aspects, we do not place the requested items automatically in each guest room.

But please be informed that a Nespresso machine is available upon request and of course our In-Room Dining team will be by your side. Additionally our housekeeping team is more than pleased to bring an iron and ironing board up to your room at anytime.

Please feel free to contact us under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you soon again at The Charles Hotel.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    214
    59
    20
    17
See reviews for
372
510
88
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

A wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel special. The room was excellent, very spacious with an enormous bathroom. The staff were warm and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them.Breakfast was suberb. Located a couple of minutes walk from the main train station, this hotel is perfectly located to explore the city of Munich. I would recommend this hotel, and I will definitley stay there again.

Room Tip: Although the website states all rooms are non smoking, there are smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great feedback, which we shared immediately with our entire team. Your words are much appreciated and this reflects exactly what Rocco Forte Hotels are known for.

It is fantastic to hear that you will definitely return to our property and please do not hesitate to contact me, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable: mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very nice hotel with excellent service and great location.
Very spacious room with really great bathroom shower.
Great breakfast service with a lot of options.
The only reason why I would not give this hotel a 5 star rating is that they charge an obscene amount of money for internet charges. I stayed with my wife for two days and had to pay practically 40 Euros on room charges. This is the year 2012 and hotels still feel that it is ok to charge such a high amount for internet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedbac and your time to do so. It is very important for us to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich.

We understand your wish to have free internet access, but currently we are working with a very good external company, which guarantees us a safe and quick internet and a 24 hours support for all our guests. Please be ensured that we are trying to find a solution for the future and in the meanwhile I really do hope for your understanding in this point.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

First stop on Euro trip with wife and two sons 11 & 14. Had a very warm welcome on arrival that stayed warm until the moment we left 3 days later, from everyone we interacted with - bellman, all reception staff, concierge, bar and restaurant staff and spa/fitness. Even greeted personally by the Duty Manger, and made to feel very welcome. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed, with treats awaiting our return to the room each evening. Convenient location near the spot we needed to go - BMW Welt, but also close to main train station & city. Though not cheap, it was worth every penny, as we were treated so very well. Our room rate included breakfast, which was a real treat, and ate dinner at the restaurant the first night that was also good quality food and a great dining experience. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on Tripadvisor. We forwarded your wonderful feedback to our entire team, which is much appreciated.

We do hope that you spent a fantastic time in Munich and its surroundings and look forward to welcoming you and your family soon again at The Charles Hotel.

If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please to not hesitate to contact us at anytime: mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 with my husband and three kids (7, 5, 2) and my parents. We had adjoining rooms that were spacious and clean. Our kids received little treat packages with stuffed lions, colored pencils, coloring books, toothpaste and brushes. Our 2 yr old got a crib and rec'd some lovely baby bath products! The breakfast buffet was wonderful, fresh and great quality. The outdoor patio was just perfect and quiet, right next to a park with a spielplatz (playground) my kids loved. You can't see the playground from the outdoor cafe, but it's close. The staff were wonderfully friendly, helping us out frequently. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but did enjoy tea and kids menu items. Loved the pillow menu (I selected the neck support foam pillow). The pool was spacious and so lovely - kids are limited to 11-4pm for pool usage but ours were well-behaved and the staff let them use it a bit longer. Internet was not free. Location is perfect for exploring Munich- very close to trams, u-bahn, s-bahn, DB. Running guide took us on a great route to the English Garden. Located very close to a wonderful grocery store in the basement of the Karstadt dept. store, so I'd suggest loading up on food for kids and snacks there instead of spending too much money on food at the hotel - save up to treat yourself at the spa!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.5 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.6 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.5 km away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,942 - ₹ 43,583
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing