We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #29 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Arrived during the deep freeze over Europe in February 2012. It was literally - 20 oC with the wind chill. The hotel is very impressive on the outside and nice and modern on the inside. The rooms were very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The only problem was as I discovered to my horror the heating in the room was broken. As you can understand in the middle of a European winter freeze this was not a very pleasant experience. I woke up at 1 in the morning literally frozen solid. I phone the concierge and they informed me that due to the time there was no electrician to fix the problem but that they would send up a portable heater immediately to take care of the problem till it could be fixed in the morning. Other than that it was a nice hotel and the concierge was very knowledgeable about tours and places to see in Munich. They also had a wonderful SPA downstairs which I used. Would definately recommend for weary business travellers like myself.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,083
    959
    292
    140
    70
See reviews for
565
1,413
275
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Spent 2 nights here on my way to Berlin. The positives: it's lovely to exit the train station and be in the hotel lobby within literally 2 minutes, superb check-in service, stunning lobby decor, spacious room with all modern amenities, extraordinary customer service, quiet, centrally located with a 5-10 minute walk to Munich city center. The Negatives (to be fair): the 5 minute walk from the hotel to the Munich tourist sites is a little odd (totally safe neighborhood but it's a little bit of a disconnect with the hotel ambiance), the 31 euro buffet breakfast is a little expensive but thankfully it's delicious. Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and I would enthusiastically recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I spent one night in Munich before flying back to US. The hotel is conveniently located next to the train station, less than 2 min walk from the gate, and 10 min walk to the city center. As a woman traveler, I felt safe walking around the area during the day and night.
Check in was smooth, reception was attentive and courteous.
Room is nice, modern decoration, love the Hermes toiletries, and iPod docking station. Bed was so comfy, I didn’t want to get out of the bed next day. Bathroom is nice with a good water pressure in the shower. Overall, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palau05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed at Sofitel Munich on way to Lech for skiing. With our 1year old in tow. We booked a suite and from the moment we arrived to the minute we left, had a fantastic stay.

The baby cot was brought up immediately and was beautifully clean and free of grubby marks with a sleeping bear as a gift from the hotel.

We also ate in the hotel and the food was faultless. We ordered breakfast for 1 as I usually pick at my husband's (!!) and it was phenomenal - fresh fruit, eggs, cereals, pastries, fresh juice and coffee and was probably enough for 3.

Genuinely warm, friendly staff, and nothing was too much bother.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We booked a suite to treat ourselves for our weekend stay in Munich, at over € 450 a night it was ridiculously expensive and we were really looking forward to it.

The hotel is basically in the train station so great for getting around however it is a pretty ugly area.

The room was ok, fine at € 200 not over double that price. It smelt of smoke which I was told because it is new and from the building work... Yeah right!

I have two main complaints which spoilt my holiday;

1; the wifi and Internet didn't work the whole weekend and no one told us. I had to do some work and spent ages on the phone to my company thinking our systems were down as Sofitel wifi seemed to be working fine. It wasn't , they new this and kept quiet to not highlight it. The receptionist told me to go over and use the wifi in burger king, do I spent a lovely 3 hours in a crap burger king rather than my room. Bad bad service.

Next a wall lamp which was brand new snapped when I adjusted the position on the desk . Did they apologise... No they charged me € 200 for breaking it, even better they left a note under my door and sent an electronic message at 630 am. This means all the TVs in your room turn on full blast with the message so that was a nice wake up on holiday!

When I complained the assistant manager looked v embarrassed and offered me a free breakfast ( oh yeah no breakfast when you pay over € 450 a night, should have checked that one!!). I asked to speak to the manager but he only started work at 930 and had an important meeting to attend first, so unfortunately he would miss me.


This place is fine for a nice business hotel. Never ever go on holiday pay for the mandarin oriental and just don't take the risk here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridtoltobyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#92 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,354 - ₹ 33,580
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing