We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Pension Westfalia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Westfalia
Ranked #262 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Pension Westfalia is a small b&b place, which is quite nice and has its pros and cons:
Pros:
1) The owner Peter is very nice, always friendly and always ready to help with all possible and impossible questions
2)The breakfast was very good, very filling: variety of breads, rolls, cereals, cheeses and cold cuts; yougurt, jams, flax seeds and pumpkin seeds; tea or coffe
3) The room was quite specious by European standards, the beds were comfortable.
4) The room got cleaned every day, towels were changed every other day.
5) The price 72 Euro/night for a double room including breakfast is a rear find.
6) Free internet access in the room
Cons:
1) It's not in the center of Munich, you have to take a metro (2 stations) to get there. It is possible to walk to the center, but it took us about 30 minutes of walking through busy city streets (very uninmpressive walk)
2) The room had no fridge to store our wine/fruit/water, etc. It had no ventilation or air-conditioning either (could be a problem on a hot day/night)
3) Toilet had no ventilation or window
4) The room and the toilet had an unpleasant musty order although both were very clean (probably due to poor air ventilation, although we kept our window open at all times)
5) Right beside us there was construction going (it will continue till September 2011), so we were up at 7 a.m. every morning except weekend, could be a problem for some late sleep lovers.
All in all it was OK, worth the money we paid for sure. Would recommend it to anyone who travels on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    35
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
19
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This pension was perfect for our family of four. It is on a quiet corner but very near the U bahn. Emilia was incredibly kind and helpful during our stay. We would most definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needavayK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed at Pension Westfalia Sept 16th, 17th, 18th 19th and 20th, 2010 on our first ever trip to Bavaria and Oktoberfest! We can’t say enough about the hotels location. If you want to be right across the street from the Wiesn, this is it. The room was clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly, which really helped a couple of Americans new to Bavaria. The breakfast was very good. The Pension was close to many things like a laundry mat and the U-bahn and S-bahn. We loved the town of Munich. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cardinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Room was small,but contained everything required for a stay in Munich - bed, wardrobe, bedside table, chair and small TV with cable. The room (number 12) was double glazed and incredibly quiet - no street noise. There are no coffee making facilities and you might want to take your own soap.

Conteninental style buffet breakfast - muesli and other cereals + ham,cheese, bread yoghurt etc.

Staff were charming and very helpful - all spoke English.

Apart from being close to the U-Bahn and Haupbahnhof the Pension is a pleasant 15 - 20 minute walk to the town centre. There are plenty of shops / bars / restaurants within easy walking distance.

PC available in reception and I think it is wi-fi enabled (better check if this is important to you).

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Munich, but don't require luxuries I can thoroughly recommend Pension Westphalia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GentlemanJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I recently stayed here based on TripAdvisor.com reviews, and I got what I expected. The room was very small, with a 15" color TV, comfortable bed and small bathroom. The furnishings were in excellent condition, but they looked like they they could have been in a dorm setting. The shower stall was tiny, just barely enough room to manuever. But the water pressure was excellent and the water temperature stayed hot. As other reviewers have noted there was no soap provided. The breakfast was very good, buffet-style that included standards like cold cuts, cold cereal and rolls, plus juice and milk. The owner Peter is a very nice gentleman who serves you coffee or tea. He provides a set of keys that allows you entry into the building and hotel any time. The hotel itself is on the top floor of an older, well-kept apartment building. The location is great, about a half-mile south of the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) and an easy three-minute walk from the nearest metro (U-Bahn) station (called "Goetheplatz"). The neighborhood is quiet and upper-middle-class. I felt like I was staying in an inner suburb rather than a large city. If you're on a tight budget but want to stay in a quiet, safe area then this the place. But only if you're willing to accept the limitations I mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderwall88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#148 of 383 in Munich
375 reviews
0.4 km away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#85 of 383 in Munich
254 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.4 km away
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
#357 of 383 in Munich
86 reviews
0.7 km away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#114 of 383 in Munich
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Westfalia

Property: Pension Westfalia
Address: Mozartstr. 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,250 - ₹ 4,911
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Pension Westfalia Hotel Munich
Westfalia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing