We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly, comfortable and well located.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #5 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and well located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed at the Uhland for two nights in May, and it was delightful. It's on a quiet residential street, but just a block or two from a Metro station, the Oktoberfest grounds, restaurants and services, and just a 15 minute walk to Marienplatz or the train station. Rooms are clean and of a reasonable size; the included breakfast was more than adequate, and the staff very friendly and helpful. No coffee facilities in-room, but there is a common room on the main floor where you can get coffee or tea any time. While this place lacks the services of a large hotel, it more than makes up for it in atmosphere- and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    257
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
232
338
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I just finished traveling for 3 1/2 weeks in Germany. This was my least favorite hotel, but the locations was great. Munich is a large city and this hotel was well located on a quiet residential street with about a 10 minute walk into the heart of the city. I did need a cab to the train station. We were on a family trip and had 3 rooms. The rooms were a little more used than others I had encountered in Germany and our bathroom was about the size of a cruise ship. We could not turn around and it was the very first time that I have ever encountered mold in a German hotel shower. It was a surprise and could have easily been taken care of. Also, the mattresses were older and my husband and I both noticed that we kept rolling into the middle of the bed which had not happened before on our trip. Overall, if you need a budget-friendly location in Munich, this place fits the bill. It is not luxurious or even overly comfortable. It is located in a very old building, but should fit the bill ofr budget travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here last week of May 2012. I was on my own and felt very comfortable at this ultra-clean, friendly and well-located hotel. The large room with desk and free wi-fi was wonderful for a 6-night stay that included business as well as vacation. I loved that the hotel was not smack bang in the middle of the Old Town but in a pretty peaceful street approximately a 15-minute walk away. The breakfasts were always fresh and ample. I will stay here again next time I'm in Munich.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanksfornought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Excellent hotel in quiet residential area. The hotel is an attractive late 19th century building refurbished to a high standard with modern facilities. About 30 minutes walk from the centre of Munich, but only 5 minutes from nearby subway station and about 10 minutes from the main central station. Staff very helpful, with reliable advice about nearby restaurants and booking tables for us. Excellent breakfasts with plenty of choice, including very good options for vegetarians. Rooms large and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWells90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is a lovely turn of the century building. The location is close enough to walk to a lot of areas if you don't mind a 10-15 minute easy walk. The staff was great!!! Our room was nice and roomy with a lot of modern features including an updated bathroom. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 km away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.6 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.1 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#2 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
2.0 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.5 km away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#9 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,447 - ₹ 11,111
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing