We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great free breakfast! Tiny rooms. Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Ranked #60 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great free breakfast! Tiny rooms. Great location!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

One of the smallest hotel rooms I’ve seen, but not so bad. Fantastic free buffet breakfast. Right in the heart of Munich. 7/10

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    186
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
141
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

When in Munich stay at the Schlicker. I paid 117 euros when converted to to the currency of my Country which is Rand it amounts to just over a grand which is quite a high rate BUT i must say it was worth it!
Stunning rooms and very clean, however they are on the small side. Most of the tourist sites are with walking distance and theTrain line to the airport and all other lines is a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The first thing I will say is that if you are an a leisure trip, it would be hard to get such an outstanding location at this price. The hotel is extremely central (about 150 meters from the 'Marienplatz' U-Bahn).

My room was of slightly larger than average size, very clean and equipped with efficient air conditioning. The bed was comfortable, and there was everything I needed except... no Internet. Unfortunately this is pretty much essential for business travel nowadays. The hotel is a very solid building which doesn't adequate data coverage on mobile either, so I had to stand by the front entrance with my smartphone (where there is coverage) to do my mail.

Some have complained that rooms at the front are noisy. I can't comment, but could believe it as the street outside has many bars and cafes with outside tables. My room faced onto the courtyard, and was extremely quiet.

Breakfast was very good indeed. Not very expensive (about 9 Euro, I think), and with more variety than many other hotels I have stayed in.

If you want a central location, and don't need business facilities it is an outstanding choice at the price. For business you may prefer to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms at the front unless you are planning to return late yourself, due to the potenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights this past weekend. The hotel is right on Tal which is great because it's close to everything HOWEVER it's also noisy. Our room was on the top floor facing the street. The first night it was no problem but on the second night some locals parked ther car just outside the hotel, were blasting music with windows open and yelling at 5am. With windows closed it was a no go on the sleep. This went on for 30 mins. I was about to ask reception to call the cops because it was unbearable. Then it stopped ( I guess someone called before me). The breakfast is really great with lots of choices and fresh fruit and breads. They have very limited parking behind the hotel, so we had to park at a city parking garage at 15 euro per day (make sure you have your parking ticket validated at the hotel). Overall good hotel but small rooms, limited parking on site and noisy location are definitely minuses.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

WE love the Hotel Schlicker when an evening in the heart of downtown Munich is what we want. Great location, wonderful staff, QUIET rooms in the back courtyard. Breakfast is always a treat and parking is SO EASY! Love it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooleysSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.2 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 km away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"

Property: Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Address: Tal 8 | Historic Centre, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,597 - ₹ 13,963
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlicker Hotel Munich
Hotel Schlicker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing