We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CVJM Jugendgaestehaus
Ranked #31 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My two sons (ages 9 and 11) and I stayed at the hostel for 5 nights in late June. We had a private room. The hostel is located in a bit of a "red light" district but is very conveniently located to the train station and all the attractions of central Munich. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean. The hostel was very reasonably priced considering how expensive it is to stay in Munich. The only complaint I had was that without air conditioning (it was on the warm side when we were there) you had to keep the window open and a couple of nights it was quite noisy due to guests on the street communicating with others in the windows above. This made sleeping difficult. Still, overall it was a great place to stay. A word of advice for those traveling by rail in Germany. You'll save a pile of money and hassle booking your travel with Deutsche Bahn directly rather than booking through Rail Europe. Munich is a great place to visit especially for cyclists. Don't miss the surfers at the Englischer Garten and if you have children the Deutsches Museum.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for CVJM Jugendgaestehaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2008

We booked a private triple room at the CVJM (also known as the YMCA) near the main train station in Munich based on good reviews. Unfortunately we had a bad experience the night we stayed. The room was adequate, the price was right and it was only about a 10 minute walk to the train station. The problem was that it was extremely rowdy and loud the night we stayed. I thought the noise level might drop off after 10:00 p.m. since that was the house rule, but it didn't. At 10:30. I walked down to the reception desk and let them know that the we were unable to sleep due to the partying of the other guests on our floor. The receptionist came up to the floor and spoke to several people who were yelling and running in and out of rooms, but it only got worse after that. We had an early flight and just needed a place to rest so it didn't work out for us unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TGreeneTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

The location is very good, it is near all the central atracctions of Munich and at walking distance from Subway "Stachus". The have nice and comfortable beds, very much better than the average hostel. Breakfast is very nice and healthy. Showers are clean and hot. The staff is nice. The only drawback is the lack of "party" atmosphere and the curfew hour. But if you are just looking for a quiet and comfortable place, then CVJM is excellent.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank Elcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

This hostel was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous, especially the hot chocolate, with really lovely service. We had a double room, but not a double bed (two singles which could not be pushed together), and having our own vanity in the room was great. Facilities were very clean, although I felt uncomfortable with the shower and toilet light switches being on the outside of the rooms! Unfortunately we had some rather loud guests staying in the room below us, so it wasn't exactly quiet, but then we were there during Oktoberfest, so I suppose that comes with the time! The location is fabulous for strolling down to the Festival grounds, or also for walking into the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mstiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank MariaantoniaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Demas City
Hotel Demas City
#167 of 385 in Munich
282 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#40 of 385 in Munich
349 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#20 of 385 in Munich
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#147 of 385 in Munich
330 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Deutsches Theater
Hotel Deutsches Theater
#303 of 385 in Munich
389 reviews
0.2 km away
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#171 of 385 in Munich
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CVJM Jugendgaestehaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CVJM Jugendgaestehaus

Address: Landwehrstr. 13, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly CVJM Jugendgästehaus)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range: ₹ 2,549 - ₹ 9,346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer reasonably priced board and lodging for single travellers and for groups (e.g. for school trips or holiday camps), who can enjoy their stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Since the modification 2017 we offer twin, triple or quadruple rooms with shower/WC and AC. Altogether, our hotel has 87 beds available. An extensive buffet in the mornings is included in the price. Our hotel is right in the centre of Munich - the train station and the Karlstor are only a five minute walk away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing