We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, excellent price, be prepared to slum it a little”
Review of Pension Seibel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Seibel
Ranked #44 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, excellent price, be prepared to slum it a little”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

You really can't argue with the price I paid (49EUR) for a single room in this part of Munich - 5 minutes walk from Marienplatz or Hafbrauhaus, and close to the U2 station for access to Munich Messe. Especially since I was booking less than one month before a massive trade show that had everything else within a 50km radius under 200 EUR booked out. The catch was that this is not a hotel that most business people would consider - the bathroom and toilet were shared. Of course that doesn't mean you have to take a shower with other people - once you lock the bathroom door you are (for better or worse) taking a shower alone. But for most business travellers, having to walk down the hall to use the toilet or shower is out of the question - hence the late availability.
If you can deal with this, though, you have a nice little hideaway in the centre of Munich at a very reasonable price.
Other stuff: No lifts, so if you're on the fourth floor, it can be a bit of a drag. The WiFi is a t-mobile hot-spot, so you have to pay if you don't have some kind of arrangement with T-mobile. Breakfast room is pleasant, breakfast is normal German buffet (cold meat, cheese and bread rolls), but there are only four tables, so peak times will be cramped.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G0LGO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    31
    41
    24
    36
See reviews for
21
34
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Old building, old appointments. Clean. Location is fantastic! This hotel might not be at the top of anyone's list but it's not so bad, especially for just a few nights (we stayed for two nights). Make it up with your next hotel. No elevator. Approx. 95 steps to climb to room 43 with ensuite WC and shower. Remarkably quiet in the evening, even for a city. Breakfast was fine but only 4 tables could make it crowded. Very helpful staff. English spoken.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col_Tomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Fortunately, we were only booked in this hotel for one night. It is like walking onto the set of a horror movie. We stayed with our teenage son in the "apartment" and my mom had a single. We were terribly overcharged for what we received (200 US for apt.) The heat didn't work, the decor is a throwback to the 60's, the bathroom was about a 4X4 area, complete with broken toilet seat, TV didn't work.......this after a 5 floor walk up with reception on the 3rd floor, no elevator. On the upside, the proximity is close to the Marianplatz (but there are other choices!) and the breakfast was hearty. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. It is creepy

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

The hotel is very centrally located by the Viktualienmarkt, well within walking distance of Marienplatz and all the main sights.

We arrived extremely early in the morning and were allowed to leave our bag there for the rest of the day before we could check-in, the hotel was easy to find and the staff were welcoming.

The room was quite possibly the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in, more like a corridor than a room, with a wardrobe, single bed and desk down one side of the room, the bathroom and another single bed down the other, and a small walkway in between. There was a TV in the room, which quite frankly dominated the desk and rendered it unusable. There were also some drinks but no price list.

The bathroom was small, but made to seem even smaller by the ridiculously oversized sink, which made it very difficult to stand in the bathroom with the door closed. The shower wasn't very powerful and the showerhead looked like it hadn't been cleaned for quite some time.

The rooms weren't especially soundproof and I was woken a few times by voices in the corridor.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was in the form of an all you can eat continental buffet. There was coffee on the table but it was cold and wasn't replenished while we were there. There were rolls, meats, cheeses, spreads, cereal, everything you'd expect for breakfast really. There were only four tables in the breakfast room which wasn't really big enough and some people came in, saw there was no room and had to come back later.

I'd stay here again if I literally just wanted somewhere to sleep for one night, if I was staying any longer I'd look for somewhere a bit more spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter to visit the Christmas market. We were literally 5 mins from the main Marienplatz square and were able to pop back to warm up inbetween shops. The whole experience was magical with snow and Christmas cheer everywhere.
This pension is basic but homely with character. The most important thing to me is it was clean and warm and so near to the centre.
I would go again another year. Not sure what the summer would be like without air con. But as a winter retreat it was great.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#109 of 382 in Munich
317 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#85 of 382 in Munich
296 reviews
0.1 km away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#272 of 382 in Munich
127 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#20 of 382 in Munich
876 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Seibel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Seibel

Property: Pension Seibel
Address: Reichenbachstr. 8, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,608 - ₹ 11,817
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Seibel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Pension Seibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Seibel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing