We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rooms smell of smoke, reception shows no consideration, ridiculous prices for everything except the room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Munchen City Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Munchen City Sud
Ranked #199 of 380 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rooms smell of smoke, reception shows no consideration, ridiculous prices for everything except the room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights.

The room price is great value; the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and there's plenty of space.

However:
- the entire building stinks of smoke; my room was a non-smoking room, but it still stank.
- there's no airconditioning, and opening a window means lots of traffic noise, so in July, it's pretty unpleasant.
- breakfast - a buffet of questionable quality - is 17 Euro. Bakers across the road is better quality, and far cheaper.
- A bottle of water cost 4 euro. Half a liter of water for 4 Euro. Really.
- I bought the water at around 11PM, before going to bed; at midnight, reception phoned me to check it had to be put on my room bill. I was asleep. Getting woken up in that way is NOT acceptable!
- the hotel is in the middle of nowhere - getting to the centre of town or to my meetings was a pain. That's obvious from the map, but it's worth knowing...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    243
    171
    73
    55
See reviews for
98
207
28
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The infrastructure in Munich and in all of Germany for that matter is superb.This hotel is a 20 min bus ride to the Ostbanhof and all the connections you'll ever need to visit this superb city. The efficiency of the German transport system means you'll not have long to wait for the number 55 bus which drops off right outside this hotel. The hotel is fine for a short stay. It is clean and comfortable. We stayed in early December 2011, as we visited the city for the xmas markets. We also got a good deal on secret escapes and we were pleased with the deal, once we found out how good the transport system was and that this hotel is NOT isolated. There is a lovely cafe across the street that we used once for our breakfast, as we had booked room only, so i cannot comment on the hotels breakfasts.Would i book again, well only if i wanted a quick, late weekend escape. You get what is says on the tin.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadyman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and we were very pleased with the room, location and service. The rooms were spacious, modern, clean and at a great price! There is a bus stop outside the hotel which takes you to the Ostbahnhof station, there you get a train to central munich. Very easy and this service runs every 10mins.
Get a 3 day tourist pass - very cheap and allows you to use all public transport and gives you discounts on museums etc.
The one downside was expensive wifi although it is free in the lobby for 30mins periods but is slow. We opted for the "business quality" 24 hour access which costed us 17euros.
Would definitely stay here again - we loved Munich!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

When I first booked this hotel (through lastminute.com's secret hotel facility) and found out where it was I was quite alarmed. Looking on the map it seemed quite a distance from the centre of the city to the attractions like the Marienplatz and English Garden but I soon realised when I arrived that it is located in an absolutely lovely area. Agreed it is out of the way of the city centre but if you turn left out of the hotel and walk down Ottobrunner strasse you will eventually come to a lovely little village (rammersdorf-Perlach I think its called) with some wonderful pubs, restaurants and shops. Not that you would want to spend all your days visiting this little village but I would recommend eating/drinking at Der Hufnagel which serves delicious Bavarian cuisine and beers with hardly a tourist in sight.
The rooms at the Munchen Am Ring are apprpriate for this type of hotel. Basic but very clean and quiet too. Didn't try the restaurant for food but did go to the pizza place next door for a couple of beers. The guys working there were very friendly.
All in all I would certainly stay at this hotel again. A quick bus ride to Karl Preis platz underground and a train up into the centre takes no more that 25 mins.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

the apartments are simple but has cooking, microwave facilities and a small refrigerator. Bathroom is spacious and ther is an additional area for dressing up. Located near a housing complex, so the surroundings are very quite and green.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
3.6 km away
NH Munchen Messe
NH Munchen Messe
#75 of 380 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.6 km away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.7 km away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
NH Munchen Unterhaching
NH Munchen Unterhaching
#1 of 7 in Unterhaching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
6.6 km away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City South
3.0 km away
Ibis Muenchen Sued
Ibis Muenchen Sued
#86 of 380 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Munchen City Sud? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Munchen City Sud

Property: NH Munchen City Sud
Address: Ottobrunner Str. 17-19, 81737 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH München Am Ring)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Munich
#17 Spa Hotel in Munich
#20 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,555 - ₹ 12,698
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Munchen City Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH München City Süd hotel is ideally located close to the Munich city center, offering easy access to the Exhibition Centre and International Munich Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels and Agoda so you can book your NH Munchen City Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Apartments Munchen Am Ring Hotel Munich
Nh Hotels Munich
Nh Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing