We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what is says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Munchen City Sud
Ranked #201 of 383 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what is says on the tin!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Booked as a secret hotel on LastMinute.com and the main header was “Crazy deal near metro station Karl-Preis-Platz” and decided not to gamble and go for the hotel next to a metro so it is easy to get in to town. This is nowhere near town! The Metro station is a good 20mins away, and Ostbahnhof is the easier to use anyway as it links straight to the city centre. The area the hotel is in pretty deserted – there is a bakery across the road, but we arrived late and there was nothing open and had to get food from a garage near-by. The hotel itself is okay, the rooms are huge but basic and cold. The staff are not helpful... We had one really bizarre incident with the weirdo on the desk. We had tickets to the Bayern Munich game and asked him to confirm the kick-off as I thought it was 2pm but I hadn’t double checked, he told me “Bayern v Bremen, that was last night and they lost”. Obviously in a panic, believing they’d moved the game for TV I had to frantically check the internet to find the game was 2pm Sat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crispy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeG, Guest Relations Manager at NH Munchen City Sud, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor which we really do appreciate.
We took your comment as a chance to discuss all points mentioned with the team to ensure that those happenings remain the exception. We will also make sure, that guests will be informed, to take the bus - direct near the hotel - to reach the metro station "Karl-Preis-Platz", so that they do not have to walk 20 minutes. As well we will take care, that guests will be informed about the Italien Restaurant round the corner. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and hope to welcome you once again to convince you of our quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    262
    183
    81
    59
See reviews for
107
224
30
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have been in the hotel this last weekend, and i was not so sure after reading some of the reviews.
But, it has been a good decision.
Yes, the hotel is not in the centre, but the Bus 55 stops almost in the door of the hotel, and in less than 15 minutes it leaves you in Ostbahnhof. From here to the centre, other 10 minutes by bus/tram/train. So location is not that bad.
The rooms were ok, clean, comfortable bed.
For Breakfast, there is a small boulangerie crossing the street, with great pastries and coffee. We had light breakfast for 5 euros both of us, and complete one can also be ordered at a reasonable price.

So, good value for money, and would consider it again if going back to Munich by car

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS_08_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I went here with my mate for Oktoberfest. Last year we stayed quite far out and decided to stay somewhere a bit closer, without the massive room fee's, when we found this hotel, we were a bit unsure off proximity etc, it turns out we need not have worried. There was a bus stop outside the hotel which in a four minute journey took you to the nearest underground which has access to all of Munich, or stay on the bus for ten minutes and you arrive at Ostenbahnhoff station. The ride will cost you a Euro so great. More often than not, we had the great staff at the desk call us a cab which would take us to Munich town centre, this would cost around 14 Euros 15 with a tip, coming home late at night as you do, your looking at about 21 and whatever tip you ar drunk enough to give :-) the cabs were fast and affordable and a good way to travel, but if on a budget, i would take the bus. The Hotel itself was clean, the rooms were great for the price, always made up everyday and mini bar well stocked, my only gripe was bad flat pillows, but could have asked for a spare if needed. Next to main road, but after 5 minutes, you forget it is there. No bar, but there is a great bar next door called the lollipop bar, with great staff and good happy locals, there is also 2 great cafe's right next door if you fancy food, we never had the breakfast but the rest looked good. My overall take on this hotel is very good and we will book again for next year as soon as dates announced. Hope that helps, I would have given a 5 but thats for Hotels within walking distance to Oktoberfest :-)

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are double bed only, try and ask for rear facing if light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FunSeekerHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

A hotel that was clean and functional and close to transport links which was convenient for touring Munich. The room was spacious, clean with the bathroom being the same.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but from what I saw it looked pretty standard.

My only gripe was the lack of air-conditioning in the room and corridors. It was quite humid for the time we were there and due to the fact the room overlooked a busy road if you opened the window you would here traffic all night. A fan would have been an easy solution however none were available.

The staff that we encountered were great and always willing to help.

A hotel I would recommend to travellers on a budget.

All in all a pleasant hotel which I would use again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbear81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The hotelhomepage is soooo not real...place is clean but in the middle of nowhere..
Rooms ok....but NO aircondition ...
All in all the prize was ok but not a hotelat all ...more a hostel ... Breakfast way to expensive ...metro is far so u have to take a vus to get there ...on their homepage it sounded different ...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.9 km away
Ibis Budget Muenchen City Sued
3.7 km away
NH Munchen Messe
NH Munchen Messe
#73 of 383 in Munich
383 reviews
13.0 km away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#332 of 383 in Munich
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
10.2 km away
Ibis Budget Munich City Olympiapark
3.0 km away
Ibis Munich City South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Munchen City Sud? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Munchen City Sud

Property: NH Munchen City Sud
Address: Ottobrunner Str. 17-19, 81737 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH München Am Ring)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Munich
#17 Spa Hotel in Munich
#25 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,900 - ₹ 13,576
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Munchen City Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH München City Süd hotel is ideally located close to the Munich city center, offering easy access to the Exhibition Centre and International Munich Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Munchen City Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Apartments Munchen Am Ring Hotel Munich
Nh Hotels Munich
Nh Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing