We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good position, great for business and fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #216 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Sondrio, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good position, great for business and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

This is a 3 star superior hotel next to Munich Main Station. It provides good value for money in a comfortable position. My room was wide, simple but comfortable, with some "strange" stuff, such as a phone next to the toilet seat and two shower nozzles in the bathtub/shower (one fixed to the wall and both working!). Room was supposed to be for smokers, but thanks to excellent ventilation I only realized it on the last day (and I'm a non smoker).

The pluses
+ Great position
+ Nice staff
+ Good breakfast (albeit not too abundant, but with organic bread!)
+ Sound sleep
+ Wireless internet
+ Good price (60 euro/night)

The minuses
- noise coming from the bars nearby (I could sleep anyway)
- Schillerstrasse, the street where this hotel is, has some peep bars and sex shops.
- The personnel lacked of information. They didn't know the max height of their garage, nor they were sure about conventions with other hotels nearby... But this is stunningly common in many hotels, in Munich and elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrogigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    70
    54
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
56
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We almost didn't stay here due to the reviews on Trip Advisor concerning the rude desk staff. We finaaly booked the room as they offerred a hyper-alergenic room. We stayed for three days and had a wonderful time both in and out of the hotel. The staff was helpful (Thank you Richard) and friendly. The female desk staff were also very friendly and helpful. The room was large (we had a double), clean and quiet. Breakfast (included) was fresh with a wide assortment of food's (meats, smoked salmon, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruit, cheese(s) and great coffee. The hotel is within 200 yds of the Haufbahnof....30 yads if you know which exit to take from the underground mall. We will use this hotel as our Bavarian base of operations on future visits to the region. Can't beat the value, location and quality/size of room for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobNAlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

The hotel looks a little bit old from outside. But inside the rooms are refurbished and in very good condition so far.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreasPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Stayed there for one night in transit. Since we reached there late in the night we decided to stay close to main station. It was a dirty hotel with dirty sorroundings. It was sheer waste of money. I would never recommend this hotel to any body. Just stay away from this dirt.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

After a week in 4 excellent 3 star hotels in outh Germany (Augsburg, Heidelberg etc.) My wife and me decided to enjoy our last 3 days in Munich in the City hotel. We were deeply disapointed from the room - dirty windows-especially the window sill, broken chair, torn carpet, dirty toilet and the worst - when we went to sleep the linen was torn. The aircondition promised by phone and in the web site did not function (its either heating or cooling and it was heating when we wanted to cool the room...). When we complained The hotel manager Frau Dvorak was impolite and did nothing to give us a good feeling and when we offerd her to come with us to our room to show her what we were talking about - she refused. All the rest was not important for us, as it is an a low standard shabby old fashioned poor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB20011954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#235 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#151 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#200 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Schiller 5 Hotel
Schiller 5 Hotel
#14 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.0 km away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#86 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 km away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#42 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Schillerstrasse 3a, 80336, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,689 - ₹ 11,197
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing