We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to see it back open”
Review of Zum Gruenen Baum

Zum Gruenen Baum
Ranked #949 of 4,168 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 22
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 February 2017

I have lived in Munich for seven years and this is one of my favourite Bavarian restaurants. Not only is the food tasty, but the portions are HUGE. It's also not as expensive as most. Best of all is that they serve Edelstoff!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful place, cozy atmosphere, delicious cuisine, beer on one of the largest breweries of Munich. If you stay overnight in the region recommend to visit it.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank Nanchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Hospitable staff and Friendly atmosphere
Varied menu, Excellent food and beers received. Very clean and delightful beer garden when weather is warm

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Steps away from the S2 stop (Obermenzing), a very traditional beer garden and restaurant. Typical local cuisine - I had the white asparagus which was in season, very good. A good option to refuel after sightseeing (Nymphenburg is walking distance - 30min...)

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

I like the typical bayern atmosphere. The people around are friendly. The drinks are good. The food has a good price quality balance. I enjoyed the kasespaetzle and sometimes the local Augustiner bier or some local wines.
The service ladys are all good, most of them friendly and nice, just one or two of the older ladys can be sometimes kind of cranky, but personally I found it funny and not disturbing.
Around this area of Munich this is one of the best places I've found. I would gladly recommend it!

1  Thank 385Mikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Gruenen Baum also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Gruenen Baum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing