We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, convenient, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Monaco
Ranked #160 of 381 Hotels in Munich
East Troy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Recommended by friends, this was our first trip to Europe, and Germany. A little difficult at first to find (we were not used to the signs), but a clean comfortable room, very warm welcoming and friendly staff, who were helpful as I waiting for my luggage to be found. Nice selection at breakfast. Only minus is a fair amount of street noise at night, as there is some "adult entertainment" in the area, but no problems due to that. We were there four nights through Christmas Day. Very easy walk from the main train station, and to Marienplatz for the Christmas Markets. A nice little restaurant across the street with friendly servers and good food.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClipperCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    197
    48
    28
    18
See reviews for
98
200
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The location is convenient for us. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast tastes good even for the people like us from China.The people are very kind. Even though our english is not so good, they explained to us patiently the location of the nearest McDonald's, the nearest supermarket RossMann and where to buy goods such as man‘s suit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yulong W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

As I arrived on a overnight train, a guest house with a great location is really important. Hotel Monaco sure met my expectations, with less than 5 mins walk away from the HBF and walking distance away from Kaufingerstrabe.

Guest names are written on a chalk board placed at the reception, I could not have felt more welcome on arrival.

As my stay was near towards Xmas period, each time i returned back to the Hotel from my tiring day trips, I was always received with gluewien (spiced wine) and home-baked spiced chocolate cookies. Not to mention the complimentary wifi, the breakfast spread was fabulous. In comparison to most european hotels, the room I stayed in was huge with clean shared-bathroom.

Should I return to Munich, I would definitely stay at Hotel Monaco.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent 5 nites over Christmas and loved this small hotel. I looked forward to getting back every night and to breakfast every morning. The location is perfect. You only need transportation to a few of the out-of-center-of-town sights or if you have difficulties walking. Being so close to the train station is a plus, particularly when almost every place is closed during a holiday. Also, excursions depart from the station or near it.
The room and bath were big and comfortable. They had a "home" rather than a "hotel" feel. The staff is great and very helpful. There were nice touches like liquor-filled chocolates for Christmas. Breakfast was great! You couldn't do better anywhere else.
I would give this hotel a 6, if we had found English language channels of the nice TV. You can't go wrong staying at this gem of a hotel. Thanks to Rick Steves for recommending it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilarplmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed at Hotel Monaco for 2 nights in early December and can confirm the positive reviews. They accomodated our room requests (away from the lift) and always replied to emails in a timely manner. We were treated to mulled wine and traditional cakes upon our arrival and were impressed with our incredibly cozy and homely rooms. The breakfast was great and the WIFI quick and reliable. Location is central and within walking distance to all the major attractions. Don't be put off by the somewhat shabby front of the hotel, it is a true local, authentic gem. I would recommend without any hestitation!

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, I would recommend a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ains_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#136 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.0 km away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#43 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#228 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#112 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Nymphenburg
Hotel Nymphenburg
#184 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.8 km away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco

Property: Hotel Monaco
Address: Schillerstrasse 9, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,792 - ₹ 16,419
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice family run hotel in the city center of Munich, close to the main train station, and free internet via W-Lan access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing