We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean airport hotel w/ great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #36 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean airport hotel w/ great service”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Kempinski just isn't an airport hotel--it can't be; it's too nice. From the moment you walk in, you know you're staying in luxury. The lobby has a huge glass atrium, and when it's sunny out, the light radiates throughout the whole building.

The hotel has two wings, each with 4 floors. The rooms are very comfortable, modern, and clean. There's a flatscreen TV, safe, high-speed internet*, mini-bar, hair-dryer, and telephone. Plenty of light, and huge windows overlooking either the runway, the inside lobby, or the gardens. Fluffy towels and robes are in each room.

*For free high-speed internet, register for the hotel's GHA loyalty club at checkin, and they will remove the 6euro/hr charge for internet from your bill at the end of the stay.

The hotel also has a fantastic pool and spa. There are separate men's and women's areas, and everything is immaculately clean. Don't bother using the steam bath, as it's a little bit cold. The finnish sauna is great though, as is the pool. My only quip about the spa was the walk through the joint/airport hallway in the basement OR through the hotel lobby to get back to my room (i.e. the spa is in the east wing of the hotel, so to return to the west wing, you need to cross a public area either in the basement or the lobby level).

We had breakfast at the restaurant when we stayed there, and it was great as well. A little overpriced, but delicious, and a huge variety of food.

Finally, the staff were incredibly helpful and kind. Guest services explained how to take the S-Bahn into Munich, and what to do in the city, and was also helpful with figuring out baggage issues with Lufthansa. The check-in staff let us into our room early, and also extended our check-out time until 2, all for free!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    766
    253
    55
    44
See reviews for
354
667
211
834
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Kempinski at the Munich airport isn't great, but it is a nice alternative if you have an early flight out. They have a 24 hour exercise room, and there is a nice place to shop for food in the Terminal building which is maybe a couple hundred meters away. The layout of the hotel is a little funky with two wings separated by a big open area, but that doesn't detract from the experience.

It is after all an airport hotel. The rooms are simple, but they are not as worn out as airport hotel rooms sometimes are.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxsar911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I had an eight hour layover and arrived tired, cranky and dirty, but left refreshed and rejuvenated. The room had everything I needed.

Restaurant prices are expensive (to be expected). Dining options in the airport are just a short stroll away although those prices are also high.

Even though my check-in was little a complicated (they couldn't find my reservation), I was in the room within 15 minutes of my arrival.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Kempinski Munich Airport Hotel is located within the airport. On the
map and on their site they mention how they are located at Terminals 1 &
2 but one does have to walk outside from ther terminal for about 100
meters to reach a covered walkway which leads to the hotel (another 300
meters). Luckily it wasn't raining.

Checkin was quick. The rooms are very nice, spacious, carpetted and
sound proofed. I had asked that the minibar be cleared so I could put
some of my own food in it, which they did, but for some reason the
minibar was not cold. Minibar during my stay was semi-cold.

I had a problem with my electrical plug conversion for Germany and their
reception provided me with an adapater plug for the duration of my stay.
Without their help, I would have had about 2 hours of power left in my
computer. They saved the day!

They have 6 different type of pillows available, a full size leather
recliner, they provide slippers, and one can even request a hot water
bottle!

In the conference center, every person was provided with a choice of 6
different kinds of drinks - Cole, Diet Coke, orange juice, apple juice,
water, sparkling water. As I said - class act.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My first time staying at an airport hotel. Very convenient for our meetings. Hotel is modern, clean and very attentive to guests. We ate at the breakfast and lunch buffet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadRunner79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
2.2 km away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
4.3 km away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.2 km away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
29.5 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Property: Hilton Munich Airport
Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Green Hotel in Munich
#21 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,273 - ₹ 22,716
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 551 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing