We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ok hotel”
Review of Hotel Stachus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stachus
Ranked #166 of 383 Hotels in Munich
brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An ok hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The location was great, so close to the underground and main train station, and within walking distance of Marienplatz. The room was clean and we could not hear any noise (maybe as we were on the top floor and not facing the street). The room did not seem to have airconditioning, which was ok for us as the weather was very cold, but i would imagine in summer it might be rather warm in the room. We also opted not to have breakfast at the hotel, there are so many eating places nearby that we could not justify paying extra for the hotel breakfast.
For the price, i would expect english tv channels and free wifi. The wifi cost 4 euros for 24 hours, which we payed for in cash each time. Twice i was accused by two different reception staff members, of owing money for wifi i had used but not paid for. One gentleman in particular did not seem to understand me when i told him that i had in fact paid for my wifi each time i got a new password. After about 5 minutes of the discussion, i thought i had finally got my point across, however upon checkout i was again told by a reception lady that i owed 4 euro for wifi. In the end we resolved this, but i was quite annoyed by the end of it (mostly because it reminded me i'd had to pay to use the wifi).
The reception staff were helpful and friendly (apart from the wifi incident), and we were happy with the standard of cleaning. Tea/coffee making facilities and/or a small fridge would have been nice.
I probably wouldn't stay here again, a week later when we had to return to munich we were able to find a better hotel with better facilites, for about the same price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sioquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    220
    114
    33
    19
See reviews for
54
189
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

the location of the hotel is the only advantage I can mention about this hotel which was near the train central station, restaurants and shopping centers. the rooms had no refrigerator, tea maker, safety box and free WiFi. even there was no room service for hot water or coffee. TV channels were all in German. water sewage of the shower room was so weak and took long time for the water to go. street noises bothered us at nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nooshin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was a nice little hotel but especially nice for the price. Within walking distance of the metro and the Frauenkirche. Marienplatz and tons of shopping/food is also right there. Great location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacoSEVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My mom and I stayed one night at this hotel six days apart. First night our room was all right, second night it was terrible (facing the street). We requested a change of room but was denied. After trying very hard and the front desk lady went out of her way to get me a room of better location, though much smaller. We were grateful, though a bit exhausted by then...
The room doesn't have wi-fi, but the guy on night shift behind the reception desk was so nice that he let me use his work computer for a short while so I could take care of some urgent matters.
If you drive like we did do ask them for their preferred parking garage which cost 15 euros, instead of 25. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for driving visitors as the garage access is quite complicated from the main street.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room to avoid noises of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrakuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The room was big, very clean and quiet despite being on the main street.
The staff is friendly and the position is great, just in the city center, at Karlsplatz stop of fast train from the airport, near the central railway station. The hotel is a perfect base for city sightseeing, good value for money!
The only flaw is that the internet wi-fi connection is not free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iosonofrancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#161 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#48 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#172 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Luitpold
Hotel Luitpold
#189 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#63 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 km away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#47 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stachus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stachus

Property: Hotel Stachus
Address: Bayerstr. 7, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,214 - ₹ 15,932
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name says it all about the location of our traditional hotel in Munich. Centrally located between Hauptbahnhof (main train station) and the Karlstor, also know as Stachus, you will overnight in the heart of the city. The Hotel Stachus is located at the beginning of Munich's walking zone, just a short distance to Marienplatz, Hofbräuhaus and to the Theresienwiese, home to the annual world famous Oktoberfest. In a few short minutes you can reach Hauptbahnhof and from there connect on to the airport or the Munich Expo Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stachus Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing