We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
195
330
89
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
330
89
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main train station street noise single room free wifi hotel is located street side room faced the street no air conditioning top floor minute walk cold meats munich hbf yogurt s bahn schillerstrasse neighborhood euro
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Had to find a hotel at the last minute on Sunday, October 8. This place is a gem and a bargain. Sparkling clean modern rooms. Yes, Schillerstrasse is very loud, but the windows are secure and help a lot. It's worth it to pay a little extra and get a room not on Schillerstrasse. Everything is sleek and clean. The elevator only played Frank Sinatra music, which was kind of cool and hip.

The breakfast here is a spectacular. I would have paid $25 in Vegas for such a spread.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear; don't let the location scare you away
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Cameron,

thank you very much for your very kind feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our breakfast varieties.
We wish you all the best and hope being able to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The hotel is 2 blocks from Hauptbahnhof, the train station in Munich. It is on Schiller Street which caters to adult nightlife. So, if you are not intimidated by Gay Bars, Table Dancing, Casinos this is a good hotel. It didnt bother us. But we didnt feel safe walking on the street after 10pm or before 7am when it was dark. We got a room facing the back of the building and not the road. It was quiet and peaceful.

The receptionists were helpful & curtious and we were even allowed early check in, provided a kettle, mug, sugar, spoon to make our own coffee in the room. Speedy check out.

There was a good spread at breakfast.

The room was cleaned every day -but it didnt seem to have been swept and mopped as there were strands of hair & wool left. An freshener for the washroom would be ideal.

Good linen. New towels left everyday. However, the pillows were enormous! Like mini bean bags!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want peace and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind feedback.
For being a private hotel customer satisfaction and quality are very important so we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The hotel is close to the train station and the Christmas markets so this is the reason that we chose this place. Also, as we were travelling for 2 weeks and wanted to spend more money in the markets then on a hotel we chose a hotel that was a little cheaper. We were worried as to the quality but were pleasantly surprised that it was very nice. The rooms were a little small and we were had two twin beds, which was okay with me as my husband snores a lot. The beds were comfortable. We had no problem with the wifi and there were only 2 English stations but it was good enough as we spent most of our time touring and attending the Christmas markets. When the windows were closed it deafened the street noise, but being downtown we expected some noise from the street. If a quiet hotel was a priority we would not have stayed downtown. We looked at the price of an average breakfast in Munich and it was between 7 and 12 Euros, therefore, at 9 Euros for a hot and cold breakfast, which included cappuccinos, lattes, regular coffee, tea, pastries, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit salad and cold cuts and cheeses we feel it was a reasonable price. Check in and check out was seamless. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a place for a few days that is close to the train station and the main attractions in Munich.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Kim,
thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We really appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and were satisfied with the quality and service of our house.
We always try to do our very best fulfilling our guests wishes and serve breakfast items with fresh and good quality in order to guarantee that our guests will have a great start in to the day.

We wish you all the best and hope being able to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Pros: So reception was super helpful and pleasant. TV has english channels so can keep up on the news. Rooms are clean and serviceable. Plenty of outlets to charge all the gadgets. Very close to all the trains. Lots of eateries nearby.
Cons: WiFi not good enough for Netflix. Breakfast a little pricy at 9 Euros pp. Street noise is incredibly loud - partying and ambulances. Construction going on currently next door. Smell of breakfast wafts into all the rooms.
So nothing to write home about. Its close enough to old town and museum square to train or walk there easily and is very reasonably priced.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank MichelleP2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Michelle P,
thanks for having stayed with us and finding the time to give us this kind feedback.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service and the quality of our hotel. For being located in the heart of Munich you are right to say that on some days it might get a bit louder on the street. Although we cannot influence this circumstances we always try to do our very best making our guests stay a very pleasant one and would like to inform you that we also have quiet comfort-rooms facing the courtyard for only a little extra charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights over the weekend. We thought the hotel was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Had an excellent breakfast buffet each morning included in the room price as we booked direct. We did pay extra to have a room on the backside of the hotel so noise was not much of an issue and slept with the window open each night. Short walk to the sights and all transportation.

Since it is near the train station, which is why we stayed there, it is a typical neighborhood for that location. We were there on the weekend so we saw it at its worst. We were not bothered at all by anyone on the street, and we found that by taking a back way we avoided one corner that was especially a hangout for young people. I do think that some people at night may be a bit uncomfortable especially if a young single woman. It definately was interesting!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamHotelRoyal, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Sharon K,
thanks a lot for your very kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our quiet comfort-rooms and especially the breakfast. We hope being able to welcome you in future again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews