We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #77 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Green Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

You get nickle and dimed through your whole stay. WiFi was 9 Euros for an hour and a half or 24 euros for 24 hours. There was only one computer in the lobby for the entire hotel to use and someone was always on it. One woman reserved it for a 2 hour conference call for her business.I felt that she should have had to pay for the 24 hour WiFi and not allowed to use the computer. I feel computers in the lobbies should be for quick checks on things such as checking flights and etc. I also waited 15 minutes for the computer before she finally said "i reserved this". There should have been a sign saying it was "reserved until.." If they allow people to reserve it then there should be a time limit and/or they should have more than one computer in the lobby. I asked for ice and was told to go down the block to the local restaurant for some. Don't they have ice? I asked to buy stamp to mail a post card and they just said "no". The staff at the front desk didn't smile and i did not feel they were friendly. The mini-bar in the room was a weighted system and if you just picked something up to look at it you were charged. There wasn't any toiletries in the room such as shampoo or conditioner. If you wanted to use the fitness room there was a charge. It was about a 15 minute walk from the city centre.
We stayed two nights and it was two nights too long. The room was small and dirty. The pillows were horrible. The TV was outdated.
I would never stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel and you will be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Rebecca K,

We are very sorry for this negative impression you got. The service for our guests and the contact with them is our highest priority.
Your critic is been taken seriously and we truly hope you will give us the chance to be your host again to show you a better service.
Thank you for taking the time to make some comments about your stay.

Kind regards,
J.Hug
Guest Relation Manager
Holiday Inn Munich City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    1,263
    455
    125
    67
See reviews for
571
754
139
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a fairly standard 3-4 star hotel but what makes it great is it has an elevator from a train station directly into the lobby of the hotel. That's a great thing when you're coming from the airport and it's raining.

Room Tip: They offer, for an extra 15 Euros, internet and a room on a high floor. Take it - it's a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cebnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Excellent hotel for group travel. Rooms clean and pleasant. Excellent view of The Alps from floor 11 - when not raining!!. Staff pleasant and extremely helpful. Swimming pool an added bonus. Breakfast buffet very good although evening buffet less so. Beware charges for tap water. Convenient for City Centre. 10 Minute walk to Marienplatz. .
Good supermarket in mall below for additional items you may wish to purchase.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel offers a great base to experience Munich.It is connected to the Rosenheimer Platz S-Bahn (Subway Station).So you do not need to tackle the cold weather to reach the hotel.You also have a shopping mall inside the Complex.The Hotel rooms are standard not too big but very clean I must say.There is a free internet point in the hotel lobby but negative is there is only 1 public pc so u have gotta wait if someones workin on it.The breakfast in the Hotel is FABULOUS.You will get lots of variety of food to eat there.You can even store your Luggage in the hotel so u dont need to carry your luggage if u are goin sumwhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms are standard but good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear royraja,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We highly appreciate you including the Holiday Inn Munich – City Centre in your travel plans.
It is our first goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much. I have forwarded your friendly words to the hotel team, especially to the housekeeping- and breakfast team. Your words encourage us to keep our service on a high level.
We look forward to welcoming you once again to Munich and to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Julia
Guest Relation Manager
Holiday Inn Munich City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed 2 nites end march 12 .central location,near to shops,has clean and comfortable rooms.friendly staff.good spread of food for breakfast.there was a total of 80 of us and we were served pretty quickly during check in and also at breakfasts.

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing the road,these are quiter especially Friday n sat. Nites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 383 in Munich
2,542 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#81 of 383 in Munich
2,620 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,532 reviews
3.3 km away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
4.1 km away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,567 - ₹ 22,228
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing