We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Annual Christmeas Market trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Am Markt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #170 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Annual Christmeas Market trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

My sisters and our daughters have an annual treck to different Christmas Markets. There were 8 of us on the trip and all were very pleased. The hotel is very friendly, clean, helpful with a fabulous restaurant. The dinner was amazing. The hotel is so convieniently situated to all means of transport as well as a good point to walk to different parts of the city as a sight seer. So thrilled with it that we are going back and all will be taking our husbands at some point. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    164
    58
    31
    21
See reviews for
61
133
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

At first i will start with some (but little) negative things about this hotel before tell you the BEST...its a little small with little space to move and has a small (but good) breakfast
The rooms are small but also good and clean...BUT CERTAINLY ONE OF THE BEST THING IN THIS HOTEL IS OF COURSE THE LOCATION...SO NEAR THE MARIENPLATZ VERY CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE ON FOOT IS ABOUT 3-4 MINUTES AND LESS IF YOU WALK QUIICLY THAT OFFERS VERY BIG CONVENIENCE TO THE TURISTS THAT WANT TO BE IN THE HEART OF THE CITY...
Nowhere else i could find a cheap hotel near the city centre and of course for this reason i would recommend it to everyone who wants not expensive or luxurious things but a simple cheap and V E R Y CONVENIENT HOTEL-LOCATION.The staff is also very polite and help you with everything you want.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billy-g7-greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I cannot believe the good reviews this place has gotten. The room was so small my husband and I could not both stand in the free space. It was a double room, but that meant two single beds in an L shape along two walls, jammed up agains each other so one bed was very difficult to get into and out of. They were the most uncomfortable beds I've ever tried to sleep in--actually poked by springs!!! The bathroom was too small to turn around in.

One tiny window facing the buidling next door (about 10 feet away) let in no light. Chairs were dining room-type chairs. Only two fit--one at the tiny desk under the tinier window and one next to it. We didn't watch TV, but it was hung on the wall in the corner and looked to be about 10 inches in diameter.

If you're looking for a flophouse, this will fit the bill. If you're looking for even reasonably comfortable accomodations, stay somewhere else.--Oh, and if you're referring to Frommer's description of this dump--there is no "lounge" and never was one. There is a spacious breakfast room, but that room is closed after breakfast. Since all the staff were Spanish, I would bet there's been a change of management since the Frommer book was written.

We were only there for one night, thank goodness. It would have been a nightmare for any longer a stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ceallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

The previous reviews warned me. Indeed, the carpet was old but at least not musty. We were a group of 3 and were able to book a room with 2 divisions so it was roomy for us. The tv was not working and the receptionist just replied, "It's really difficult." At least there's wifi. The coffee was great. The hotel was situated right in Viktualienmarkt. The Hop-on Hop-off bus stops right at the corner. For the price, I think we made the right choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altitude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

a VERY basic hotel
rooms poor
poorly lit
noisy outside all night
noisy inside the hotel most of the night
... so don't expect to sleep
great location next to the viktualien markt and a short walk to mairienplatz

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.2 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#169 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 km away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.3 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#12 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Property: Hotel Am Markt
Address: Heiliggeiststr. 6, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,194 - ₹ 11,166
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing