We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal service, interesting location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andra Muenchen Hotel
Ranked #117 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal service, interesting location”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The staff of Hotel Andra were nothing short of attentive and super helpful! They have 24 hr support in the lobby for any need guests have whether in English or German. The breakfasts were incredible and the patio wa a great spot to sit in late May during the morning.

The only drawback to this hotel is its location when walking from the Hauptbanhof. You have to walk through Munich's small Red Light District to get there. I never really felt in danger walking through it, even late at night, but it isn't exactly a clean area to pass through after 10 pm.

For the price, staff, and bfast, I'd recommend this place unless you don't like the thought of being 2 blocks from the craziness that comes with sex shops, casinos, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alovorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    134
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
104
69
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The location of the hotel was perfect for the hauptbahnhof. Goethestasse was not quite what we had expected but for a young couple it was fine. Really easily accessible. The staff at the
hotel were extremely friendly calling us a cab when the weather wasn't so good. Room was lovely and adequately catered for although no tea/coffee kettle. Continetenal breakfast was good. Although dining room slightly small for the size of the hotel. Would stay here again. Wifi worked well and was not at all like other reviews have stated however we were on the second floor. Staffed 24 hours a day meant any questions/queries were dealt with immediately.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saa0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We took the S8 train from the airport direct to Munich hauptbahnhof - which was super efficent and cost 10 euros (one way) and took 40 mins. The hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk from the station, which was such a relief. Like other people have said - the road isn't the nicest road but it actually has lots of character and we found some gems there. Hotel Andra is towards the end and it stands out as it is yellow and looks very well looked after.

We had booked through expedia at a very reasonable price of £70 per night including breakfast and we were really very very impressed. The chap who was at reception spoke perfect english, checked us in really quickly and we then trotted off to our room. We had booked a double but it was actually a twin. When I went to ask about this we were immediately (and without extra cost) upgraded to a king size room - which was lovely. Really big, super clean (as was every part of the hotel), flat screen tv, good size wardrobe. Plugs and mirrors in all the right places and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom (although it did overheat quite quickly). It is a no frills hotel but we knew that and that didn't affect our views on it at all. It was really modern and functional and as I have mentioned, so clean. It really ticked all of our requirements.

The breakfast is fine, usual sort of continental breakfast, cereals, ham, cheese, eggs, fruit, yoghurt and so on. There isn't any croissants or other pastries but you did get plently of rolls and we were really able to fill up for the day. The fact that it was included in the price was so impressive.

We got the wi-fi - cost of 3.50 euros per day - and only had one period when we couldn't pick up - other than that there were no problems.

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of town (Marienplatz), but we decided to hire bikes as soon as we got there to make getting around the whole of Munich easier. We hired bikes from Radius tours (recommended by the hotel) which are based at the station.

This hotel is a real gem - excellent value for money. One night we went to the very cool pub next door - the Gap - which is really worth a visit and we followed that with an excellent "kebap" at the turkish restaurant about half-way down the road - which is always busy - day and night! Again recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I was getting a bit nervous as I walked down the Goethestr looking for Hotel Andra as we passed yet another topless bar and sex shop but I need not have fretted. Tucked away from the street and up a flight of stairs we found the reception of Hotel Andra.

It seemed at odds with its surroundings which was a good thing. It is exceptionally clean and modern feeling and I think it was a reasonable rate of stay too. We had breakfast too which was ok but like any buffet, the earlier you get there the better it is. The banana was going brown and the fried eggs were going the same colour as the bananas! However, overall it was pleasant and at the extra cost of 9 euros each well worth it.

Staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English like many of the Germans do.

We were only here for one night but I'd recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere quiet and near the city centre.

I'd also recommend you going round the corner towards the end of Pettenkofferstrabe to a bar called Lenz. Two large beers, two of the best chicken club sandwiches ever - a total of 30-something euros.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireTatties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is probably the best kept secret in Munich for the value. It was close to the train station and about a 20 minute walk to the City Centre. Only negative for us was lack of parking but you can park on the street for 24 hours for 6 euros. We had a room right on the street which was noisy with the window open but about 95% soundproofed with the window closed. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet in the morning was wonderful. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it for family and friends too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRR143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#135 of 383 in Munich
313 reviews
0.2 km away
H+ Hotel Munchen City Centre B&B
0.2 km away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#114 of 383 in Munich
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#45 of 383 in Munich
294 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#19 of 383 in Munich
704 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#63 of 383 in Munich
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andra Muenchen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andra Muenchen Hotel

Property: Andra Muenchen Hotel
Address: Goethestr. 38, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,758 - ₹ 10,481
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andra Muenchen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Andra Muenchen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing