We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
490
61
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
61
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking romantic suite hot tub neuschwanstein castle steam room excellent hotel sister hotel sliding door perfect place to stay junior suite air conditioning side window minutes walk away the ground floor amazing views small hotel dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

With just a short walk from the bus stop, Villa Ludwig is convenient to everything. The Junior Suit I booked with a view of the castle was very spacious and clean. Arriving in late afternoon, I spent two nights here in October. Katja on reception was wonderful! I was able to drop laundry off on arrival and was ready to pick up after breakfast next morning, together with my castle tickets which Katja had very kindly arranged to pick up. The restaurants are just a short walk back up the road where there is also the visitors centre. The following morning you take the same 10 min. walk to begin the castle tour of Hohenschwangau.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AussieGreg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette S, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Ludwig, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for your good review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Our stay at villa ludwig was amazing. The staff is cordial, resourceful and create a warm atmosphere for their guests. For couples , I would suggest the romantic suite which offers a great view.
The wifi is a bit weak on the upper floors but I am sure that would be the last thing on your mind. Thank you villa ludwig for an splendid experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ashwinpillaidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette S, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Ludwig, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for your good review. We hope to welcome you again in the future at our Villa Ludwig Suite Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

The location is great for visiting both Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castle. It is a 10 minute walk to the bus/horse carriage places. The town itself is very small and almost empties in the evening. Within a 5 or 10 minute drive, there are more restaurant choices and supermarket.

We stayed in the chalet, which was recently renovated. The chalet is spacious, with 4 bedrooms, 2 on 1st floor and 2 on the 2nd floor. Kitchen, living room and half-bathroom on the ground floor. The beds were very comfortable. The master bathroom on the 1st floor is very spacious, wonderful shower and big bathtub, double sinks, lots of storage space. The bedroom doors are old, so once, we tried for 30 minutes to open the lock. The chalet itself is old, the floors are quite creaky, especially going up and down the stairs. The kitchen was well-stocked. Having the outdoor seating area was really nice, and great view. Good garden/public space for the kids to run around. Not recommended for people with walking disability as you need to go up stairs for the
bedrooms.

We had only one keychain for the chalet, which was a bit inconvenient as it was the same chain of keys for the front door as the back, and also you needed the key to lock the door from the outside. Otherwise, the door just stays open. Not great when there are 4 adults and 2 small children.

Our biggest complaint is there is no washing machine, although this is advertised for families and self-catering. With 2 small children and rain every day, staying in the chalet for 5 days, it would've been very useful to have a washing machine instead of having to wash things by hand. It would be nice to have fresh towels (if we could wash them) since it rained every day, so everything felt damp. I believe there is a charge to change towels. Also, as it is meant as self-catering, there were no toiletries stocked in the chalet (shampoo, conditioner, soap).

The staff at the hotel was excellent. We booked our tickets to the castle through the hotel the day before we wanted to go and the tickets were waiting for us when we had breakfast on the morning of our visit. This saved us a lot of time from having to queue at the ticket office in town to collect. Breakfast was also a good selection. We enjoyed our massage at the spa thoroughly. The masseuse was very professional and very good at getting out knots in our backs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2Loewendahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Excellent and attractive hotel in the restrained bavarian style, being positioned at the less frenetic end of Hohenschwangau whilst still handily placed for all the big local attractions.

The view of Neuschwanstein Castle is the prize in these parts, and if you get a rear facing room you will be well-rewarded. We were in a Tannhauser Suite and, upon arrival, drew back the curtains and there it was, just like the picture on a jigsaw puzzle box. Quite a special sight.

View notwithstanding, Room 109, was just right for us. Plenty of lounge area, with a comfy sofa(bed), desk, minibar and hot drink facilities plus lots of drawer and wardrobe space including a safe. The lounge can be separated completely from the adjacent bedroom. Not a lot there other than a capacious and restful bed (with duvet), and the reverse side of the wardrobe with even more useful space. The public area is carpeted throughout and note the subdued Tannhauser mural on the lounge wall.

Also plenty of room in the practical bathroom, Big, deep, triangular tub but we always used the roomy shower; easy to operate and copiously effective. Resident nozzled hairdryer should build the biceps. W.C. is usefully in a separate room.

What else:- electronic door entry, easily-accessed balcony with table and chairs, replenished bottled water each day and no outside noise at all. Curtains and blinds keep the light out and heating/a.c worked well. Occasional mysterious internal subdued burble of noise in the evening but not from the adjoining room; never could work out where it was coming from. TV's in both the lounge and bedroom, with the former often working unilaterally of its own accord!

We were in the main part of the hotel, but there's another newer complementary block to the side of the main entrance. Both areas looked as good as each other.

The ground floor of the original hotel contains the small reception and a public area (note peacock theme) for dining/bar activities. Breakfast is taken here. Plenty of choice and availability - bread options particularly good. Only 18 rooms in the Ludwig so getting a table isn't a problem. Also worth looking in around 5 p.m. for gratis afternoon tea and appetisers. We managed to get back each evening for the bar, although this closes at 10 p.m. so sessions can be somewhat abbreviated. Meals not served here; residents get directed to a rather chaotic sister hotel about ten minutes walk away.

Car parking couldn't be easier at the Ludwig. There's a roomy underground car park with huge spaces below the main block, and another surface car park at the back. Suspect the management would prefer punters to use the former rather than the latter.

The hotel is run by a small, but perfectly formed, group of cheerful, friendly and sensible ladies, all of whom are eager to help and all of whom speak english better than the english. And if you have researched all about the hotel getting your various local castle tickets for you - don't worry, just let them. Tell them what you want to do and they will advise times and order of visit. It's much easier than gambling that you've done the right thing via external websites.

We had a great stay here, and felt very comfortable. The hotel is spotlessly clean, well-run and in a great position. We'd be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmParkRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette S, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Ludwig, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Villa Ludwig Suite Hotel and we hope to welcoming you again soon. When you want to come with your family we invite you to visit our new Villa Ludwig Chalet, a large holiday home behind the hotel, with beautiful castle view.
We look forward to hearing from you again in a future occasion and stay at your disposal for any offer, reservation and information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This a fantastic boutique hotel in Hohenschwangau, with nice staff, confortable, spcarious and clean rooms and close to the points of interest. I´ve stayed here for one night with family. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews