We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
152
113
51
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
113
51
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view cable car free canoes star service highest peak dream vacation sun loungers highest mountain in germany stayed here years ago half board gorgeous hotel every evening main restaurant swimming pool thoroughly enjoyed our stay corner room tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is so utterly frustrating. On our third stay over ten years and each time the service has got worse. It is in the most beautiful location and direct access to the lake means swimming and boating (free canoes and stand up paddling on the beach) in the summer. There is also a wonderful chill out area overlooking the lake in the spa.
However, there are not enough staff in the restaurant and they seem run off their feet so not time for much civility or politeness. The hotel seems to be penny pinching to the extreme making it seem inhospitable and lacking warmth. The smallest glasses for juice at breakfast and only 2 bottles of water which were usually empty. We were practically hunted down to sign a bill for 3€ for juice by the staff who already had our room number.
The dinner in the main restaurant is generally awful, busy and slow. The Taverne restaurant in the basement is excellent but very small so make sure to book well in advance.
The reception staff also seem to lack initiative, not providing any additional information above and beyond. E.g. there was a boat trip round the lake but nobody bothered to mention it. Unless you happened to notice the small poster at one end of the desk and speak German there is no way to know about it.
This hotel could be great but sadly poor management let's it down. We will try another on our next visit to the area.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank HS2086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I thought twice about reviewing as I wanted to keep this all to myself. I’ve been coming to Eibsee for many years and it never fails to amaze me!
I have selected ‘couples’ however this is for everyone.
I would recommend a lake view room, it’s well worth it! Room 119 has a 2 sided balcony with views of the lake and mountains (to die for).
Get up and have a leisurely outdoor breakfast then pop down to the private beach section and take out a paddle board, canoe, rowing boat - all inclusive in the price. If that’s not your thing then relax on the spa or on one of the ample amount of sun loungers.
Food in the restaurants is 5 star. We went half board. Try the steak cooked on hay in the Taverna. We didn’t drive which was fine. Beware though if you don’t there isn’t much around the hotel.
Take a walk around the lake and absolutely use the spa.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

The Hotel is located right at the Eibsee with a full View into the Mountains. Rooms are very Good for the price Level. The breakfast room is a little Bit Boring and Not takes advantage from great scenerie around. So try to take breakfast outside at the terrasse. It is a good starting Point for biking and hiking at all Levels.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Nice, clean hotel in a great location with a view of the lake and mountain. What dropped off the two points from Excellent to Average was the staff's quite conceited attitude, which did not make us (family of 5, three kids 9-11 yrs old) feel welcome at all. We decided to stay here in a whim, which was clearly a mistake as ad hoc guests seem to be hard for the hotel to manage. There was constant confusion as to where we could and should have lunch or dinner (as we were not part of the half-board deal), but on the last evening they figured it out and we had dinner at the most wonderful little á la carte restaurant on the bottom floor of the hotel - which I can only recommend!

So please do come visit, but make sure to book well in advance and be prepared to be frowned upon if you do not fit the mould (which we never figured out).

Room Tip: Our room had strange loud noises come in from cleaning or repairs, not clear, at 9am. Which was unfortunate.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This hotel should be 5 stars, lets get that out straight away. My friend and I stayed for 2 nights Sat 2-Mon 4 June as we were visiting southern Germany primarily to look around Neuschwanstein Castle and needed somewhere near to stay. We booked the Eibsee hotel purely because of it's location and the location did not let us down. It's STUNNING.
Check in was efficient, the staff are this hotel's main asset, everyone spoke perfect English and were always so helpful to us, we were the only English speaking guests, mainly Germans in the hotel. Our rooms 315 & 316 on the third floor overlooked Lake Eibsee and the Zugspitze (the highest mountain in Germany). Both rooms were spotless, with beautifully comfortable beds, tea and coffee, large TV, bathroom was a little dated, but again, clean and efficient, but it's the view that steals it, we had a balcony each with a connecting door which we left open, waking up to nothing but bird song was amazing. It's certainly the place to go for relaxation. Our check out was early on Monday morning, but the reception staff were polite, friendly and wished us well, also giving us two bottles of water to take on the journey home, nice touch. I would not hesitate to rate this hotel as a 5 star, it's absolutely beautiful, peaceful, and like most things in Germany, efficient.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, either Lake or Mountain, some like ours had both
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews