We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
61
72
20
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
72
20
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night receptionist full length mirror train station yogurt pedestrian precinct crispy bacon couple of nights within walking distance hotel parking few minutes walk homemade jams family suite this lovely hotel the hotel staff reception area staying at this hotel spa facilities
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We are very happy with the hotel in many ways.

Staff:
The staff were very helpful, friendly and warm. At the breakfast area, the female staff was lovely and cheerful. The receptionist (in the morning shift) was extremely helpful, providing us with useful information for our day trips.

Hotel and Room:
The breakfast selection was good.
The room was spacious, bright and has a balcony which looks out to the alps. There is a full length mirror at the closet area.
It has an elevator which is really great as we had heavy luggage. There are rooms that are located in between levels with a few steps up from the lift level. We had our room on lift level as I had specifically requested for it. Take note though that there are quite a few steps leading from the entrance to the reception area. It would have been good if there was a ramp for guests to wheel up the luggage at the entrance.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenBeanSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Had a good two-night stay here covering the World Cup women’s downhill. Slopes are 20-25 mins walk away, there is a supermarket across the road and lots of choice of restaurants. Breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly and it’s got a really nice Bavarian feel. Had the spa to myself at 8pm on a Saturday.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank rylandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Our family of four recently stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location near the station and shops and in the middle of town. We were greeted warmly and given the keys to our room even though we arrived before check in time. The size of the family room is great and certainly the largest we have stayed in. Large bathroom with bath (water pressure not great and took a long time for water to heat up). Good selection of food for breakfast however my boys weren’t fussed on organic foods (e.g. bread just not the same without preservatives!) The hotel is very clean, we were given the GaPa card automatically (free transport in town and other discounts) and helped with information on activities in the local area. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joli7074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

After reading previous reviews I was a little apprehensive about staying at this hotel as part of a bike tour and prebooked by the organisers rather than me. We could not have been more pleasantly surprised. It is a three star hotel turned biohotel but still family run. There is still some refurbishment going on but on a Sunday we could not judge how it would affect you. We had a lovely spacious room out at the back with a glorious view of the Zugspitze and a little balcony. Staff were super and so forthcoming in being helpful. We did not have dinner, but the breakfast was faultless. Check in and out was swift, nothing was a bother. The location is fantastic just around the corner from the Kurpark and pedestrian zone with shops and restaurants, the former firmly closed on a Sunday. We did not use the spa facilities or the sauna. Not enough time.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank qub47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We have stayed at the Garmischer Hof hotel several times over the years. Each time was wonderful. A great room, great food, and a wonderful staff.
We went to visit Garmisch from 1-4 September 2017 and of course we would stay at our favorite hotel. Well, things were not great this time. We were given a room that was the size of a box room with a double bed in it. No bathtub, just a shower. It was just me and my husband and our two suitcases and we could not move in this room. We were not paying for a discounted room, we paid full price for a double room for 2 people as we always had in the past. We asked to be moved as this was not satisfactory. They said they could not move us until the Sunday before we left on the Monday. We spent the first 2 days and nights in a sub-standard room where we could hear the drunks on the street outside the hotel bar out for a cigarette, and on Sunday we were moved to a larger room, more in keeping with what we expected. The room was big enough but it did not have but one mirror in the room over the bathroom sink, no full length mirror at all and the bed was very uncomfortable. They are renovating their rooms and we noticed a few things in this bigger room that were not finished.
The breakfast was good, as usual. That and the location of the hotel were the only good things about this stay. Most of the staff were great, there were a couple that were a bit snippy.
I am sorry to say we will not be returning to stay at the Garmischer Hof again. It's a shame but we come to Garmisch to relax, not to trip over each other in a sub-standard room and then get moved to a room that isn't finished.

Room tip: You might want to try the Partenkirchener Hof instead while the Garmischer Hof is being renovated
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews