We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Trifthof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 134
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Gasthof Schatten(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 152
US$ 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlas Posthotel(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$ 127
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$ 185
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Obermuhle 4*S Boutique Resort(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$ 239
US$ 232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$ 249
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Zugspitze(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
US$ 276
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Staudacherhof(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 251
US$ 237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten(Garmisch-Partenkirchen)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 146
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
152
109
40
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
109
40
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaccordion playermusic and dancingnightly entertainmentlive bavarian musictwo twin beds pushed togetherbavarian experiencelovely streetbavarian culturerestaurant downstairsmain buildingvealwonderful mealguest housepainted buildingsseparate roomsflights of stairsbavarian hotel
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Classic Bavarian food served in an old world decorated restaurant. The music of an accordion on the one side and some dancers who made an appearance added to the old world atmosphere. The beers can be ordered 2 or 3 liters tall and some patrons showed just how loud they could be after a very tall one. If you're part of a large party then the schnapps is brought to your table on a very long paddle board. We were just a party of two so we did not get to see the 4 foot paddle come to our table. Overall it's an entertaining and very lively place with decent food.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank sulouwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Keep in mind that when you are staying here, you are also checking into a realm of Bavarian stereotype. It's certainly a great cultural learning experience. It's everything you'd expect from an Alpine wet dream, and perhaps even more, but it's also not entirely an act put on just to entertain tourists-- the locals gather here to socialise and have fun too. While the traditional breakfast may be a bit austere (in flavour, not quantity), the dinners here are wonderful, and the portions are more than generous. On the other hand, it's not all just fun and games in the Gasthof. The hostess and/or proprietress Barbara is a strict and exacting operator who runs a tight ship, but who also seems to genuinely care about her guests and their well-being-- like a Bayerische Oma you've never had. The low-ceilinged rooms are simply but pleasantly furnished traditionally, but they all include an ensuite. Delivery of the basics is all there: impeccable cleanliness, decent simplified German bedding, good air temperature management, noise levels under control (party downstairs seem to wind down after 10.30pm), adequate lighting management, free strong wifi, good water pressure and temperature control in the shower, and adequate toilet pressure. Anything fancy or superfluous are not even attempted. No common public spaces for you to hang out, but then you'd probably be out skiing or hiking.

The location of the lodge may be slightly out of the way if you do not use the taxi or bus. Located in the picturesque Patenkirchen side, the Gasthof is a 15-minute brisk walk from the Bahnhof, 25 minutes if you walk carefully in the snow (as Barbara would remind you to do on icy days). The high street shops in Garmisch are even farther away.

Even if you're a somewhat socially passive introvert travelling alone, it's relatively easy to engage with the infectious party atmosphere here. The room is cozy; you share long tables with other guests; musicians or dancers brush your elbows; there is no escape-- you have to join in, at least in order to not look out of place. So raise your glass to your neighbouring patrons and say 'prost!'

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I have visited and enjoyed the Fraundorfer restaurant in the past and thought it would be nice the next time I visited Garmisch-Partenkirchen to stay in the Gasthof. My wife, adult son and I stayed there for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We had a two bedroom suite the Gästehaus Barara located behind the main building. The rooms were clean, nicely furnished and the beds comfortable, all we could ask for. I believe the heat in this building is hydronic in the floors which was great since we visited in January.

The Fraundorfer is located on a great street in Partenkirchen which I prefer over the busier Garmisch. There shops, wine bars, cafes and restaurants all within walking distance of the Fraundorfer.

Breakfast was pretty traditional with eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal and homemade pastries and cakes, all very good. We had dinner one night and had a wonderful meal in a very Bavarian atmosphere (separate review).

The price was very fair for the accommodations. The whole experience was very "echt", meaning authentic and genuine. I really like the staff and owners and look forward to staying there again. Thank you Barbara and Barbara. Bis bald.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank vagabond_badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to go to Munich for our Christmas Holiday and at the last minute decided to spend our actual Christmas in Garmisch area. What a wonderful time! The staff were so welcoming and made our stay so enjoyable. A friend suggested that we make dinner reservations for both Christmas Eve and Christmas Night and I'm glad we did as the restaurant on sight was packed! Everyone was having such a grand time that I hated to leave. The food portions were large and delicious and the hotel rooms were very Bavarian and unique. All in all we had a great Christmas stay!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Juli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

went for 5 days I believe, it was awesome; friendly & family owned tradition
the way that they mixed you at the dinner table was nice, was always long tables able to socialize with others; music & snaps , duck& red cabbage
good rooms, beautiful location, old Bavarian style ... not a modern glass box
the whole Garmisch was wonderful

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandru Mariu... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews