We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
152
125
92
49
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
125
92
49
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lake bobsled run summer garden maisonette room great amenities fitness room mountain side steam bath bavarian alps swimming pool breakfast buffet fantastic view of the mountains winter olympics garmisch area fantastic location mini bar spa
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

I've stayed there for 2 days on a company event, the food was very good. They serve a nice breakfast in the "Summer Garden" which was a very nice covered balcony facing the frozen lake. The room are a bit old-fashioned with old decorations, the shower has a great strong stream. Not the best location for Skiers.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyw92016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Riessersee Hotel and we are really looking forward to welcome you again - maybe in summer? :)

Best regards,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Really bad option!
It seems good when you see the prices, pictures... but... Really really bad attendance and treatment. Reception poor, totally unprofessional.

There are so many much better options in town.

1.
Just when we arrived at the main desk the woman said “You’are too early! Come back at 3 o’clock!”. (At this point we haven’t said a thing first, she started talking rude and it was 12:00)

Just after that we try to ask about ski things, like: where could we rent skis, how to buy the ticket to the lift, and to get information about it... we said: “We are early, I’m sorry, but we just want to ask you about the...” and then RUDE again, she gives us a card of a store in town and said that we should go there and ask what we want to know.

Turns out we could rent the ski, buy lift tickets and everything AT THE HOTEL. And the woman didn’t say a word about it. We figured it out when we got at the ski store and ask to the really kind man, who told us that we could buy at the hotel.

2. At 3:00 PM I arrived in my room and the housekeeping had not yet tidied up the room. We had to ask for someone to be there. And we have left the room at 7:30 in the morning.

The housekeeping when there and did not put any shampoo or soap.

3. There’s a bar on the hotel, which is always closed, so if you need food you need to go somewhere in the town.

4. The Wi-Fi sucks.

5. I was having lunch when a very stupid man pretend he didn’t understand what I was saying and just spoke german after german, knowing I didn’t understand a thing.
I complaing about it to the hotel. Nothing was said to me.

6.
After that, our rooms ran out of energy. On the entire floor. The energy of the rooms returned. But not in our room. So the receptionist sent a colleague "electrician" to check what was happening.
The "electrician" entered the room and saw everything dark, coming to the conclusion that the problem was only in our room (without seeing anything besides the fact that the light was not working and she said he was going to solve the problem) then she simply said that we would move to a room in another block, very far from ours. (21:00 o’clock with no lights to pack our things up).
We went to see the room to which we would move and it was much smaller than what we were and far from the children's room.
We needed to move anyway, without ANY kind.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Júlia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Mrs. Julia,

thank you very much for your feedback to your stay at the Riessersee Hotel. First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time for it. The opinions of our guests are very important to us and we take care of everyone. So it took us a few days to find out about the details and now we would like to answer all the points:

1. Should the tone of our receptionist have been to harsh we apologize for that. It is nevertheless noted in your reservation confirmation that the rooms can only be accommodated after 3 pm, due to the fact that our housekeeping needs time to prepare the rooms to our guests satisfaction. We always try to have rooms available for early check in, in a high season like this we have been fully booked and it was unfortunately not possible. Also with the daily service we always try to be done by no later than 16:00 and apologize for any delay.

2. The ski-rental shop was on the day of your arrival in the means of closing down. Due to that fact you were asked to rent your ski-equipment in their actual shop in Garmisch. We are glad to hear that everything worked well there. Skiing tickets can be bought, to an certain extend, in the Hotel. This information should have been given to you.

3. The Bar opens in the winter time at 5 pm. Our Seehaus Restaurant which overlooks the Riessersee and the great mountains is open as of 11:30 daily and also offers a small bar as well as coffee service and an á la carte menu all day. There is nevertheless always a possibility to order a drink at our front desk (softs, beer, wine, coffee ) to be served in our cozy Hotel Foyer or Bar.

4. Our Wifi is a free service for small works in the internet like looking up reservations etc. It is not possible to download big volumes of Data like a connection at home, that would not be possible without charge.

5. The colleague in the restaurant was very capable of understanding English. There must have been a major misunderstanding here, which we regret. With respect we do not find it very polite to call him stupid over a misunderstanding in language.

6. Unfortunately we had a power out in your room which we could not solve until the next day, the towel warmer had a defect which could not be found at that moment. We are very sorry that we had to move you under this circumstances and please allow us to offer you a free upgrade in a Master Suite at your next stay with us.

We always try to offer our best service for our guests and are unhappy that your stay was not satisfying for you. We really hope you take our apologize.

Best regards,

Kerstin Schumann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The hotel was very quiet and calm, but in my opinion it isn't anymore a 4* hotel. I spent there a weekend with my partner, and we chose it for the location and spa. Info about the sauna and steam bath: they are nudist and mixed.
Positive things:
- The service was good, they were very nice to us.
- Room was clean and spacious, with a beautiful view to the lake.
- Parking outside the reception and they also have an underground one, though it was closed when we were there.
- The swimming pool is pretty big and they offered a lot of towels, also shower gel and shampoo in the spa showers.
- The jacuzzi was spacey and warm.
- There were different bottles of sauna oil to put in the water and have a nice smell inside.
- Breakfast was good, with different choices, from sweet to salty.

Negative things:
- The corridors and rooms need an update, as the spa does.
- The steam bath was broken, since it didn't work, not even in the evening.
- They are doing renovations, which is completely fine and normal since it is the low season, but then they should close that corridor or building (we needed to go through building D to get to the spa). The sheets and towels were on a column on the floor of the corridor, plus construction tools and parts. Also, that staircase to go down to the spa hasn't seen cleaning since a while, or at least it looked like that.
- The cleaning carts were in the corridors, open to everyone and same about the closets with the cleaning and toiletries. It doesn't give a good impression.

In average the hotel is okay, but doesn't deserve 4* in my opinion, and they should take care of the appearance of it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time for this detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the rooms, cleaning, food, service, staff and all the little details.

Before starting the renovations we have informed all our guests - even on our website - about these facts and mentioned also that there might be impairments due to that. So everybody was able to decide himself if to book or not. By the way building D was closed but it seems that the signs and closed doors were not clear enough, we are sorry about this.

The hotel is not a four star hotel, it is not classified at all. The underground garage is closed due to security facts, it is possible to register at the hotels Front Office and book a place there.

Thank you for letting us know about the details so we will try to inform our guests even better in the future.

Best regards,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

The location was beautiful, it was snowing as we found the hotel this just added to the experience. We had reserved two rooms for four people. We ended up with an extra person and they didn't hesitate to accommodate with a room with an extra small bedroom that was attached. The rooms were comfortable. The view of Garmisch below and the German Alps breath taking.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank 254larryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind review to your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Riessersee Hotel and we are really looking forward to welcome you again.

Meanwhile all best wishes and a merry Christmas!

Best regards,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We spent there only one night in the hotel in order to relax. We chose this hotel because it had a spa.

postive points:
- service staff is nice
- room was quite big
- free parking lot in front of the hotel

negative points:
- coordiors looks old and wasted
- hotel makes the impression of bening half abandond
- the turkish bath was broken
- parts of the spa don‘t look good anymore

The room itself was quite fine. It was clean and spacy. A bit dissapointing was the free use of the mini bar. It only had to bottles of water in it. The turkish bath in the spa didn‘t work. and parts of the spa look very old and wasted. Some parts of the hotel were under contruction and not many peole were staying there. that gave us a very creepy atmosphere.

One night is enough there and the next time we will choose another hotel in GAP.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uschi G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Riessersee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you mentioned the nice service staff and enjoyed the clean and spacy room but we are sorry that you judge about the rest depending on the impressions from only one night. It is right that at the moment the hotel is not fully booked every day and we are using this quiet time to clean and renovate parts of the hotel which are closed then. The Turkish bath opens in the afternoon or on demand even earlier due for environmental reasons.

Maybe you would like to give the Riessersee Hotel another chance in the main season, maybe you will like this even better.

Best regards,

Uschi Glas
Assistant to management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews