We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Baltmannsweiler, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were in this hotel for a complete weekend. We arrive from the Munich airport which is around 1 hour by car. The hotel is very close from the city center which is really good because there are a lot of restaurant nearby.
The room: Very comfortable. The only problem (as always in Germany) was the pillow... I really don't know way in the entire Germany the pillows are so bad in all the hotels. However the bed is quite confortable, the bathroom is really good and the space of the room was pretty big.
The breakfast: Just excellent!!! The waitress was really friendly, the food in general with very good quality and variety.
The view from the room to the mountains is really good... think about waking up and gets this awesome view from the bed... priceless
Activities: our weekend was pretty short, so we choose to go a see the Castle Neuschwanstein, It was a really good experience. However there are also other activities like go to the Kloster in Ettal (Monatery) where you can find some really good beers to drink. Also the Castle Linderhof is not so far from there (really it is closer than the Neuschwanstein). Also you can walk through the mountain in Garmisch direction Hausberg and drink something there and get in contact with the nature.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddyagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
42
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at the Wittelsbacher during our 5 day snowboarding trip in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Driving from the Munich airport is about an hour most of which is on the Autobahn. The hotel was beautiful and quaint. We had a beautiful view of the mountains every morning and we could see the snowcats working the slopes at night fall. The entire staff and service was excellent. For 25 euros, we chose their fabulous 3 course meal (different menu every day). We dined at the hotel every night and the 5 star service and food was impeccable every time. "Oover" (not sure of the spelling of his name) was our main waiter every meal we had and was wonderful during our entire stay. Our booking included a free breakfast which was always stocked with fresh breads, cheese and deli spreads, fruits, juices and eggs & bacon made to order. The front desk lady was very helpful with any questions we had about the area. Tea was served every day at around 5pm and when family visited, they were more than welcome to join in. The bathroom had heated floors and heated towel racks.

The hotel was conveniently located nearby a walking tourist shopping area in the centre of town. Across the street were different shops, cafés and shopping malls where we could go buy drinks and snacks. Beer was cheaper than pop or water... lol. There was a McDonald about 5 minute drive from the hotel which was convenient for a late meal when we arrived as we were jet lagged and hungry when the rest of the town was sleeping. Don't forget to order a Bittburger beer with your combo!

We could have used the train or public transit to get to the ski resorts lifts and trains but we had a rental vehicle so driving was more convenient for us. If you plan to ski a lot, be sure to purchase the "all-access pass". For approx 105 euros per person, we got access to all the trains and lifts to the Garmisch-Classic, Zugspitze and all nearby mountains of the area for 3 days. We purchased our passes easily with the lady at the front desk.

We used the pool and sauna after a great day of snowboarding the Alps and everything was always kept clean with fresh warm towels.

Parking was never a problem either at the front of the hotel or on the side. We did not have to use the underground parking (which isn't free).

We also had WiFi in our room free of charge and connection was always great.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to Garmisch for another ski/snowboarding trip. This hotel is very affordable with excellent service, food and accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I found this gem last April, while on a business conference in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. When I checked in, I found out in the brochure that the Wittelsbacher Hof is member of the Swiss Quality Hotels, a brand of selected boutique hotels in Western Europe. And speaking about Swiss quality, I can definitely state that this spot was answering to all the criteria.

A small, family-type, Alpine boutique hotel, unique in its kind - it goes from the charm of the building to very nice surroundings and landscape, and the pure Germanic traditions of the staff (which, BTW, was very helpful).

As it wasn't a high touristic season, the price of the room was extremely affordable. It included a WiFi connexion, a very tasty breakfast, and access to the pool (which, with deep regrets, I didn't had the chance to use).

The room itself was very clean, luxurious and cosy, with a genuine dressing room - another plus. The interior looked like what I used to imagine as a kid, while reading tales from the Brothers Grimm.

The only con would resume in the poor choice of foreign channels, the majority being German- and Russian speaking.

Overall, it was a highly enjoyable experience. Definitely a Swiss quality hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duhku4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The couple running this hotel provided excellent service. The dining rooms were beautiful and the food superb. There weren't any shower curtains in the 2 rooms we stayed in which made showering a little awkward.

Room Tip: This is a busy road so poor sleep quality on rooms on this side of the hotel. Try to get a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzChards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Service was great and staff helped with maps, times, etc. Located near center of Garmisch, so driving or catching bus to sights was very easy. Overall a great deal for the price in a town that can be a bit overpriced at times.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runningman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
0.5 km away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.3 km away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#16 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#18 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Von-Brug-Str. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,780 - ₹ 13,277
Hotel Class:4 star — Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing