We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
25
10
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
10
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Good:
- design decor and ambience are first rate and the ambition is clearly visible...it's a high end 4 star hotel
- the food is excellent, 5 star quality...."modern bavarian"
- has the potential to become a first rate destination for Garmisch and the area when they work out the kinks
- value is in line with costs

Bad:
- they are still new and are working out a few kinks:
> staff seems confused at times...whether in person or when calling (e.g. to order something or to make a reservation)...sometimes nobody picks up the phone or the wrong person
> the hotel owner as well as the restaurant manager unfortunately started arguing with me and my guests over the way our dinner should be served and which food selections we were allowed to make...after over 25 years of traveling, definitely a first and quite entertaining

The ambition and quality are there so I am sure that they will work out these teething problems and I wish them much success!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalPolyglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Erhardt, Inhaber at Werdenfelserei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest GlobalPolyglot,

thank you so much for your rating in detail for the good and bad things.
Everyday we improve our service to getting better and better.

Thanks for your wishes!
We looking forward to welcome you again!

Family Erhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel will be AMAZING once it’s finished.

At the time of our visit at the end of July the hotel was under heavy construction. This was not highlighted when I booked direct with the hotel and no discount given. Our terrace opened out onto the construction site. There was no AC / Ventilation in the room which made it very hot in the summer. Breakfast lacked staff and I cleaned our own table. All this I’m sure will be ironed out and the hotel itself is beautifully designed with gorgeous views and pools. Breakfast was delicious with lovely serax crockery.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ugm4s2kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Erhardt, Inhaber at Werdenfelserei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest ugm4s2kw,

thank you for your great rating, despite the finnishing constructions on the grounds.
Now our beautiful natural garden was laid out on our property facing the south-western side, stones were set and lawns and shrubs were planted. Everything is growing now :)

We looking forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes,
Family Erhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

I don't lightly give excellent reviews but this hotel is very close in spite of some considerable kinks.

Booking system. It needs to have a normal date calendar availability function on the site. Its difficult to get a clear quote and availability. We persisted but there was still a mix up on arrival (which we actually expected after the booking process). Please make this easier it will pay off!

Biggest concerns were the aircon - it's not aircon apparently just a recirculating system so in the heat you couldn't cool the room down which made for 3 unpleasant nights sleep. Room was lovely though. Be sure to stay parkside near the water wheel if you can. A coffee machine, mini bar and cooling aircon would make this the best 5 star (yes could be a 5 star) I have stayed in.

The service- the staff are friendly at reception and gave good recommendations but table waiting staff weren't great. Service at the restaurant is quite unorganized and very slow was told we couldnt sit outside one night but then persisted as tables were clearly empty. No apologies, most staff can't facilitate English (this isn't a big deal but would help). Got the wrong lunch on day 1 but it was actually delicious so can ignore that. Menu's need to be translated into English too. Dinner otherwise is excellent, missed the offering of some sweet pastries for breakfast but otherwise it was ok.

Pool and view are really something special, Best part of the holiday it really was a bit of heaven! Also had a massage probably slightly expensive for what it was but was still nice. Drink service was available but awkward via an intercom didn't personally use it but saw others do so.

Overall though If the kinks were worked out and the prices stay the same it is an excellent hotel and is capable of being a 5 star in my opinion. Garmish is gorgeous this place really made it though.

I do hope to be back in the future, and hats off to the architect it's a beautiful piece of construction!

Room Tip: Go parkside, Studio L minimum 2nd floor near the water wheel for best view
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Very new unique design Hotel in this region ( Garmisch-Partenkichen). Barely open for 3 month and yes you do see a lot of touching up and construction still going on however the staff enthusiasm and help rendered during our stay make it a memorable one.

Captivating pool view make you just want spend most of your time there. Importantly they have this "resting area" at level 3 that is pretty unique to let you spend time reading or just simply hang around and the space available is huge

The room is spacious with a balcony that you can relax or just chilled. Importantly there is this additional tap that they installed for you to just get your water for drinking.
Our room electricity trip twice due to the hair drier probably that's the only set back so far.

Breakfast spread was great. However dinner option is minimum would rather head to old town for dinner which is in a couple of min. We took a tax about 10Euro from the station which is fairly convenient.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and definitely will return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

So the few reviews are all raves and my 11 year old son and I have to agree.

Its brand new so there was a lot of construction around but it didn’t impact our stay at all. Its an eco hotel in the truest sense where management is genuine in its efforts. Tea in thee room was not only wonderfully flavourful and organic but served in a large container rather than tea bags, bath products are in large bottles to be shared and the entire hotel is wood, even the bread plates!

We had dinner twice at the hotel and my only recommendation would be to have a few simpler options for children (rather than children’s menu). My son eats the same amount as adults but the children’s choices were too childish for his palette. Its a small point as dinner is delicious, innovative and fresh. Breakfast is also wonderful and offered plenty of healthy homemade choices, even the marmalades were home made. Maybe they can lose the plastic straws in the smoothies but the impact on the environment at this place is minimal otherwise...
Staff was very friendly and helpful too.
We loved our stay and would look forward to another visit anytime!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank cbw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews