We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
183
103
17
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
103
17
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel ice machine town square no air conditioning perfect location we loved our stay family hotel passion play breakfast was excellent washer and dryer parking permit triple room three nights beautiful town within walking distance hotel is located bread
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this hotel in the center of beautiful Oberammergau. The hotel was clean, comfortable and well located. The staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful and a special thanks to Ursula who made several phone calls to sort out a booking problem for me at another hotel. There is a lot to see here (we had a car) and we had pleasant visits to Ettal, Schloss Linderhof, Garmish-Partenkirchen and enjoyed walking around Oberammergau and it’s rural surrounds. The famous castles at Hohenschwangau are only an hour or so away by car. (I understand a bus runs between the castles and Oberammergau but not every day). Hotel Wittelsbach makes a great base for exploring this area.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

The Hotel Wittelsbach is in the center of town and a short walk to the passion play theater. It is clean and quiet with modern room decor. We were given a triple, which added a second room where the sofa bed, TV, desk, and closet with safe resided. We had nice views out the windows of the corner room. The one pillow per person was too thick to suit us. There was no air conditioning, but it was not needed. The bathroom basin with large counter space was separate from the toilet and tub/shower and faced directly into the bed area. Breakfast was adequate with a limited selection, scrambled eggs were okay one day and not as good the next.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walkalot4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We stayed two nights here in July 2018, in a triple. The hotel is very nice and the room was comfortable. The shower had no curtain, so it was difficult to take a shower without making a puddle on the floor. Also, the room had no mini-fridge, no ice bucket, and the beer vending machine in the hotel was out of order. So, no in-room cold beer or wine for me, unfortunately! That was really our only complaint. Parking was behind the hotel in blue-marked spaces, although it was a challenge to find an empty space. Breakfast was excellent! Didn't try the dinner, because the restaurant always seemed empty and didn't have much of an atmosphere (or outdoor seating). Had a couple of good meals in town, though. The Wolf hotel dinner was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JayEm14845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We loved our stay at the Hotel Wittelsbach. The hotel breakfast was excellent, and the food was delicious. We enjoyed our view of the square below. It was close to the wood carving stores, and an easy walking distance to all events. The hotel was clean, roomy, and well cared for. We would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Oberammergau.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Tl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

This hotel was very nice and clean. We had a balcony and could watch the activity which was fun. Beautiful view of the Bavarian Alps. Americans take note: no washcloths! This hotel had a washer and dryer for customers, however, it is very small and a bit pricey! We did not try the restaurant but the breakfast was very good. Good central place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sherril492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews