We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wittelsbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wittelsbach
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Friendly staff, clean rooms and great value.
Even included breakfast which was a buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    80
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
92
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed on a 2nd floor (3rd floor if in America) room that opened out onto a big balcony with flowers all along the railing. From the balcony we had an excellent view of the iconic Kofel (local and world-known mountain) and the bustling village center.
The Wittelsbach staff was unfailingly attentive, always cheerful, and eager to help even when it meant stopping whatever they had been doing.
The menu was simple but the food was well-prepared, moderate in price and with excellent service. The sumptious breakfast was included in the room pricing.
The room was large, well equiped with TV, Internet access, safe, and a large bed with those incredibly comfortable (and warm!) comforters!
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Wittelsbach and only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilio-Lizardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOKYO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very nice. Clerks are kind and friendly. Room and breakfast are fine. Excellent view from balcony. (We stayed room with balcony). I would like to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYMMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, but it was so comfortable we wished we could have stayed a couple more nights. The bed and breakfast tariff was excellent value. There is a reception, lounge and small lift.

Our room on the third floor was very spacious, opening into a foyer with wardrobes, with the bathroom on the side. This led into a large room with a sofa, coffee table, TV, and bed. The two windows gave wonderful views over Dorfplatz, and snow-capped mountains in the distance. Watching the sunset and the lights turning on in the village was enthralling. The shops with its beautiful artwork on the walls were enhanced by the night lights.

We enjoyed a good breakfast from the generous buffet in the restaurant on the first floor. The friendly staff were dressed in traditional Bavarian clothes. We would love to stay here again for longer.

Tip - there is a laundry available to guests. The restaurant is also open for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Dorfplatz
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Nice hotel in beautiful Oberammergau. Centrally located in the town, with convenient access to shopping and transportation (bus and train). Very helpful staff who spoke English. Elevator. Breakfast included with good food consisting of meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, etc. They even have a washer and dryer on the 1st floor for guest to use. We made use of it! Some rooms come with a balcony. My husband and I were in a double without one, but my mother-in-law shared a room with my 10 and 8 year old daughters, and they had a nice-sized balcony. The views from the hotel are amazing, overlooking the town with all the wood-carving shops and the majestic mountains surrounding us. Could get a tad noisy from the street with the windows open (no air conditioning) but overall a wonderful hotel. Even had a beer vending machine on the second floor! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 km away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wittelsbach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wittelsbach

Property: Hotel Wittelsbach
Address: Dorfstr. 21, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oberammergau
#2 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,637 - ₹ 8,174
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wittelsbach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wittelsbach is located in the heart of Oberammergau, home of the world famous Passion Play. The hotel has been family owned and operated for many decades. We invite you to enjoy the amenities and the personal style of our 3-star hotel, which combines modern ambience with a relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Wittelsbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wittelsbach Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing