We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schilcherhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schilcherhof
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Felt like we were staying at our favorite great aunt's house - beautiful wood furniture, ruffled fabric accents everywhere and very welcoming owners. I wasn't crazy about the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanineOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
19
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I stayed twice at the Schilcherhof. We liked it (and Oberammergau) so much, we visited again later in our trip. Our rooms were comfortable, quiet and had free Wi-Fi. There is off-street parking and the hotel is within walking distance of everything. The hotel staff was very friendly and had helpful information, in very good English, on dining and directions. The included breakfast was excellent. The hotel is locked after 20:00, but we were given a key to the front door.
We found Oberammergau to be a good central location for day trips in Bavaria. There are many restaurant options, hotels are relatively inexpensive (in a non Passion Play year), and strolling around in the evening is really special. There are several local hiking trails and many of the sites on our “to do” list were within a 1 hour drive.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mushroomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

28th -30th July 2010 : A group of 11 of us travelled to Oberammergau via 'Travel Without Borders' specifically to see the Passion Play. At Hotel Schilcherhof we were welcomed by Carmen who went to a great deal of trouble checking we would be happy with our rooms in the hotel and arranged for a single person with us to have a more convenient room and another 'couple' a room on the first floor because of stairs. Our luggage was carried to our rooms, although there were trolley paths to one side of the stairs to ease the process if we chose to be independent. They also offered to bring luggage down on the day of departure. We asked for a cup of tea on arrival which was willingly provided.
All of the staff were obliging, courteous, amusing, delightful, caring.
All the rooms were scrupulously clean and well presented. OK you are in Bavaria and the furnishings were traditional and not IKEA/ Furnitureland !!
One of the party needed to find a camera shop and several shops were suggested with directions. Indeed directions were given for several places we asked about.
The time of our Dinner was altered to enable us to attend an evening presentation of information about the Play. We just had to cross the road to Wolf Hotel for Dinners and Lunch. Again the food was well presented, 3 to 4 main course choices, but German ! They were happy to offer salad as an alternative to noodles/ vegetables whatever,there was a fruit alternative to the pudding offered and most of our group were delighted with the food. Yes it was quickly served, but the town doubles in size on Performance days and there are a lot of people to feed in a quick turnover between performances etc.
Breakfast was a very adequate continental breakfast with meats/cheese/variety of breads/ rolls/ cereals/ fruit/ juice etc charmingly served and attended by two English ladies.
Two of our party enjoy early morning 'mountain strolls' and there was always someone there to 'let them out' giving them coffee before they set off.
They were proud to tell us of all the parts that various members of the family had played in the Play and there was a very interesting display of photos on the walls. Fresh flowers in the foyer, sunflowers and lighted candles, quiet music in the background.
We knew before we went to Oberammergau that the hotel could only offer Category 2 seating, so were not disappointed. The day of the performance, fleecy blankets were placed on the hall table to be taken to the performances. We unfortunately hit a rainy week and were grateful for the extra warmth they provided. Cushions could also be taken.
This year for the first time the performances were 2.30pm and 8pm. Obviously it was difficult to follow the English script of the Play at night and I am not sure that it was helpful that many of the audience had brought torches with them to read the script. It was a case of being tolerant !
The Play is SPECTACULAR, PROFESSIONAL, MOVING, AMAZING.
Crowd scenes of 5-600 people and more on stage, not to mention horses, camels, goats, sheep, doves etc. The characters lived and breathed their parts. Any shop/restaurant or just in town, look out for the men with beards and long flowing hair and ask what part they play. They are proud to tell you.
Hotel Schilcherhof was as ideally situated as any of the hotels in the town, but it is to be highly recommended for the excellent service provided. So we could take advantage of the town on the final day, they willingly stored our luggage and allowed us access to facilities until we had to leave, in spite of taking in a huge number of new guests that day. We felt the three day Passion Play package we paid for was worth every penny. Thank you Hotel Schilcherhof for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back in 2020. DV !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel was very convenient. Since there is no air conditioning however, the windows had to be open and the street noise was horrible. The doors had to be locked with a key even from the inside. The outer doors were also locked with keys and there is no way out unless the staff will open the doors for you. In the event of fire, you would be locked in and though the doors are glass plated, the metal across the doors was so close together that you would not be able to squeeze through even if you broke the glass. We told the hostess that our bus was picking us up at 5 a.m. and that we needed to be out on the street (there were 10 of us) before that time. She said she would not open the door until 5 - she kept her word. I'm glad there was no fire. It was also difficult for all of us to get baggage down the stairs from the 3rd floor with no elevator.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billndiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in order to see the Passion Play, as part of a longer holiday, part of which we shared with a group from our church and part independently (travelling by rail around Europe). The rest of our group were scattered around Oberammergau, some in private homes and some in a hotel a few miles outside the village. I think we had a great deal being allocated the Schilcherhof, which is so conveniently located for the Play itself but also for the village in general. It was also really handy for our bus to Garmish-Partenkirchen afterwards (we were travelling onto Zurich for the final leg of our extended trip).

Our room at the hotel was really lovely, all the wooden furniture appearing brand new. We had a beautiful example of the famous Oberammergau wood carving in our room, a stunning crucifix which had been tastefully decorated with floweres and ivy. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, if unobtrusive.

Breakfast was, for us, a bit of a let down compared with the other 5 hotels we stayed at during our fortnight of travelling, but it's hardly fair to compare this with the much more expensive hotels in Switzerland, although our Italian hotel had served better breakfast for a lower room rate. My husband is diabetic and there wasn't much at the breakfast table that really suited his needs in terms of complex carbohydrates whilst avoiding sugars.

Like others who have left reviews on this hotel, our package for the Passion Play included lunch and dinners at the adjacent Wolf Hotel. We wouldn't quite share the enthusiasm for the meals there that others have left, as the cooking there was far too salty for our tastes (and health), but again, to be fair, we had been spoilt by excellent cuisine elsewhere during our trip.

The only downside for us from staying at the Schilcherhof was that we hadn't been aware prior to getting there that seats for the Passion Play are allocated according to the grade of accommodation in the package, with visitors needing to stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel to get good seats. As I'm very small, this is a real issue for me and being at the back meant that I could only see part of the stage, with most of the central stage completely obscured by heads in front. My husband, who is 6 foot tall, also couldn't see as he had someone 6 foot 7 in front of him. Given that everyone from our group had paid exactly the same for the trip, it felt unfair that we ended up with very different quality of seats with most of our party being at the front. This isn't the fault of the Schilcherhof, of course, but it does mean that I will want to go back another year to see the play from a better seat (I'm quite deaf too so sitting near the front is critical for me), so next time would have to stay at a more expensive hotel.

The Passion Play itself was astonishing, and incredibly moving. I had no idea the music was so lovely, either. Thoroughly recommended!!

We would certainly consider staying at the Schilcherhof again for a general holiday, exploring the lovely region locally either in summer or winter. Oberammergau is lovely, even if we did spend rather more than we had planned on the wonderful wooden carvings. It pays to be selective, by the way, as some are of much higher quality and workmanship than others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loughrigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#11 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 km away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schilcherhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schilcherhof

Property: Hotel Schilcherhof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 17, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oberammergau
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,707 - ₹ 7,201
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Schilcherhof 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schilcherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schilcherhof Hotel Oberammergau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing