We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice end to a long castle day”

s'Wirtshaus Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Nice ambience. Wait staff attentive, if a little on the disinterested side. English menu available. We had the schnitzel, King’s roast beef and pork spatzle. Everything was good. Prices were reasonable except 5 Euros for bottled water. Stick with the beer, it is only 3 euros. Skip the apple streusel. If there is a special of the day, consider choosing that meal. We did not, but all the locals did. Once we saw it, we wished we had gotten it. It was probably the best meal on the menu.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank mrsguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018

Very well located. Typical German food from Bavaria, lots of variety and excellent beer, very friendly service, good price and perfect for a group dinner

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IndaNunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

On a rainy day, this lunch warmed us! My husband had the Wiener Schnitzel...big portion, tender and juicy. I had the brat and kraut..delicious! Beers were cold, coffee warm, salad good. Service was wonderful and they had menus in English, which was nice. I had already downloaded them and had them translated! We thought the price was quite reasonable and we were very happy with the meal. We also enjoyed looking at the very old pictures from the restaurant and town displayed in front hall. Cool!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Local dishes at a relatively high price, quality not bad but definitely not the best in town. Nive terrrace and friendly service. Try it out for your self and compare with other restaurant in Oberammergau.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Really good. Aimed at tourists but why not? Still lots of locals eating here so tends to be a good sign.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed s'Wirtshaus Restaurant also viewed

Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to s'Wirtshaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing