We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational, very well presented”

Documentation Obersalzberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Educational, very well presented”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

While this site is not a great visit for small kids, we each learned a great deal. Learning the history of the national socialist movement helped us understand so much more about the area and that period of time.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank juwaraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    191
    44
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting afternoon.”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We visited here after a trip to the Eagles Nest. As someone with a very limited knowledge of the war and a female I went just to please my husband however I found it absolutely fascinating. Some very moving and disturbing images but very educational for our son.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank thomasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“See the tunnels”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

You can tour the tunnels of Obersalzburg, and walk in the footsteps of the 3rd Reich. Better than Eagles Nest

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitex71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don't miss this.”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Make sure you take the time to see this place and not just go up to the Eagle's Nest. We didn't get the interpretation device, but should have as most of the exhibit was all in German. The underground bunker system you go into is worth the time!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank MichiganChocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must see to II WW lovers”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Located at the foot of Eagles Nest this was the better II ww exhibition that I went. The area is breathtaking.

The audi guide (2 euros) is a must if you dont understand english since all the exhibition is in german. If you try to follow all the audi guide the duration will be more than 3 hours, without counting the movies and audios, so try to focus in what is more interesting to you. The viedos should have english subtitles, that is the only criticy that I can point to this wonderful exhibition.

The bunker is very cold, so please take that into consideration.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Documentation Obersalzberg also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Documentation Obersalzberg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing