We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a Find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

On our way to Salzburg we had no reservation of any kind so we decided to stay at Hotel Edelweiss. For less than $200 we had a great room, wonderful breakfast, and a roof top pool and sauna with a great view of the snowcapped mountain. The huge underground parking was only $4 Euros. They also had a great bar which is unusual in Europe. Also their dinner menu was excellent and the service was outstanding. Don't miss this place, we would have stayed there longer had we not had to move on with our trip through Europe.

Room Tip: Eat, Drink, Swim, View the Mountains-all in one stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scotland067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    65
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
103
201
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband, two 18 year old boys, and I stayed at the Edelweiss for three days and two nights in July 2011. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the minibar is well stocked, and the bathroom is especially large and comfortable. Top notch, actually, all the way around. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, and went out of their way to help get us settled in (the boys, in a separate room, had a little difficulty with internet access but the staff was patient and helpful with them). The pool and spa are very nice, and the room was quiet with a lovely view. The town itself is definitely worth visiting and spending a few days there, if you need a slower pace in the middle of a busy trip, as we did. Everywhere we went in town, the locals were friendly and professional, and we didn't have a bad meal anywhere. The hotel restaurant is especially good - their breakfast spread is phenomenal! The hotel was the most expensive on our trip, but in the end we decided it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HiMyNameIsKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have stayed in the Hotel Edelweiss while attending a vintage car event in Berchtesgaden last year. We loved this hotel. Being part of a big group we were checked in very professionally and the staff at reception was very friendly, despite the fact that they were very busy checking in all the people. Our room was beautiful and spotless clean. The first night we had dinner at the hotel as part of the vintage car event. It was buffet style and everything was there that you can imagine. Very delicious. Breakfast was very good as well.
The spa area and the pool area on top of the hotel are just beautiful and we enjoyed it very much.

We would always come back to this hotel and actually we will come back this year as we are attending the same vintage car event again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaDirectGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed here two nights in September with my husband. The hotel has a wonderful family atmosphere. I would not recommend it for couples who want to get away for rest, relaxation, and a little quiet time. It does have a pool, spa services, tv lobby / bar area and a fantastic restaurant! If you like high energy and a lot of things to do..this is the place for you. The interior was beautiful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Shops and exploring start as soon as you leave the hotel. It's a great, fun, place!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent a weekend here and loved it! The room was very spacious with an incredible view. The food was fantastic - especially the breakfast buffet which included omelettes cooked to order and Belgian Waffles. A major bonus was the HUGE parking garage! Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07LizzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchtesgaden
3.4 km away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.2 km away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
8.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
0.4 km away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Maximilianstr. 2, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,994 - ₹ 16,861
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leisure Hotel in the Centre of Town Hotel EDELWEISS in Bavaria/Berchtesgaden Located in the centre of Berchtesgaden, the EDELWEISS Hotel in Bavaria offers plenty of space for recreation, history, authentic traditions and nature adventures. On this page, you'll find out what makes the EDELWEISS a popular destination for active holidaymakers, seminar guests, events and wellness fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing