We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
3
9
2
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
9
2
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Was in Germany for 2 weeks. Work and family holiday. Was used as our base in the Bavaria region. If you are looking for what you are looking for in a hotel,(conceirge, room service etc..) you don't get them here. But if you want to feel at home, this is the place to be. I travel a lot and have to sleep in hotel chains every week. Being able to stay in a hotel that is not so superficial is exactly what I need. Especially for the family. The kids loved it because there is a play ground right in front of the hotel. There is a lake within 1km. There are dairy farms and sheep farms right in the village. My wife loves to go to the old town area which is just 3 minutes drive from the hotel. We also went hiking in different treks around the hotel. So if you are after nature tripping and is adventurous, it is a good place to stay in. The interior is typical Bavarian style with a touch of Thai. The owner loves Thailand so much he has brought back so much artifacts and structures..yes structures back from Thailand. Including 2 Tuk tuks too. Manfred(the owner)'s cooking for my family is our favourite during our stay in Germany. We didn't mind eating there everyday. Yes, breakfast is almsot the same everyday but is liveable. For those who are adventurous and prefer family type country side hotel, Karlsteiner Stuben is highly recommended. But if you are used to big hotel chain style service, then you should probably look for big names. We will be going back again very soon because of the stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Thai suite for Families.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My partner and I were part of an international sports car group touring the Alps region and this was one of the hotels the Dutch Travel Agent had booked for us. Always a problem to find a hotel that can accommodate 56 people for one night and a lot of hoteliers aren't too keen to do this at the height of the holiday season.

Anyway a lovely looking hotel and most of us were put into an adjoining annexe which was very clean and the bedrooms were comfortable and we had excellent country views from our bedroom. However we soon found out that the staff could not speak a word of English or any other language come to that other than German and we had great difficulty in making ourselves understood and as to what drinks we wanted from their small bar. Fortunately, one of the German members of our group came to our aid, but the service we got was a bit eratic to say the least. We all dined at this hotel and the dinner was adequate as was the breakfast next morning.

Partly in their defence, I would say that we English are generally very lazy when it comes to learning other languages as we think that most of the World will speak in English to us and it comes as a bit of a surprise to find people who will only speak their native tongue - rather like us I suppose.

It would have helped if the management engaged staff who could speak or have a smattering of other languages as this hotel is ideally placed for visiting Saltzburg, the Schloss Neuschwanstein Castle in the village of Hohenschwangau that was the inspiration, apparently, for Walt Disney to use as his logo and also The Eagles Nest.
So an excellent hotel, but mediocre service to sum up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews