We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
10
18
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
18
6
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Frau Stein was a gracious hostess while we stayed with her to hear Wagner's Ring in Bayreuth. Our room was very nice, large, with the usual amenities. She provided an excellent breakfast buffet. There were many kinds of meat and cheese, delicious, as well as fruit and cereal. It was lovely to stay out in the country as a change form the city. We had a car, so used that to get to Bayreuth for the operas. We also had various lunches and dinners which were quite tasty.

We would definitely stay here again for the music in Bayreuth.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cathyc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends during the bicentennial Wagner festival last summer. All in all, the stay was a very pleasant one, despite a few (mostly minor) problems. The setting is particularly nice. The hotel is wonderfully located with a nice garden area, and is in the middle of the beautiful Upper Franconian countryside. Alongside the hotel is a forest and a golf course, with a lovely walking path. Several mornings I went for long walks having been guided by the very friendly owner, Frau Stein. She was one of the main reasons why the stay was so pleasant. The service was very good and friendly. The buffet breakfast also good, and was served until quite late. The rooms (cottages mainly) are a little dated and quite eccentrically decorated. A sort of 1970s kitsch meets German countryside!! But the rooms are clean, and housekeeping services were good. The few times we dined in, each time in the garden area, both the food and the service was fine. On the last day, the phone lines were down, but Frau Stein was very accommodating and accepted our credit on good faith. Some of us had cash to pay but the others paid our dues when we arrived back home by electronic transfer. Generally, a good and pleasant stay, and I will definitely stay here again when I visit Bayreuth.

Room tip: Choose one of the garden cottages.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shahid Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place wowed us!!! Upon arrival we got greeted by the owner, Mrs. Stein. Not only did we get one piece of chocolate... no, everybody got a whole bar and on top of that a bowl of fresh cherries. However, that wasn't all. Since we went during low season, we got a free upgrade! While we indulged in some great food in the dining room, we were able to enjoy a wonderful view! The hotel is located outside the city (just a short drive away) and was built on top of a hill - hence the gorgeous view and oh so wonderful fresh air. We also got a chance to chat with Mrs. Stein who told us about how her family (a couple of generations before her) got this place. Let me tell you - real life stories are still the best! Also, Mrs. Stein gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us in which room Chancellor Andrea Merkel always stays. She also informed us that members of successful German families such as Oetker, Krupp, etc. stay at her place.
Every room is special and has its individual and unique personality. Mrs. Stein told us about her love for faucets... there are some crazy and fascinating faucets :)
In addition, her place has a park with gazebos and beautiful outdoor furniture. We sat there, enjoyed some delicious wine and felt just wonderful. In the morning, I went to do some yoga there and the tranquility of the park made my stay unforgettable. Furthermore, the breakfast buffet offers something for everybody! Organic lunch meat, eggs, honey, and jam! Also sliced salmon, many different types of cereal, cheeses and juice! Once again, we were able to enjoy the wonderful view that the panoramic windows of the dining room offer. The attention to detail with which Mrs. Stein decorated the place is astounding!
Should I come back to Bayreuth (maybe for the Wagner festival), I will definitely stay again at the Waldhotel Stein. Definitely the place to go!!!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perfectjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After finding this hotel via our rental car's GPS and getting over the general area's expensive hotel fees, we managed to book a room as all other hotels in the area were full. When we arrived the place seemed deserted and after parking we were greeted by an extremely friendly manageress and her dog 'hund'. She checked us in, gave us a plateful of fresh cherries and strawberries and a bar of dark chocolate. She then personally escorted us to our room, unlocking the door and showing us around asking if we liked the room. Asked if we would need anything from the kitchen, what time we would like to Have breakfast, etc. she then left. Being used to the cold reception and the decor of the more modern-style business hotels, my husband and I stood in the vast expanse of the room, basically at a loss for words.

It felt as though we had stepped back in time. Everything in our room - and bathroom - was straight out of the seventies. And not in the modern retro decorating kind of way...everything was literally probably still the same way it had been since the 70's. the paisley cloths under the ornate nightshades. The wallpaper. The curtains. The only hint that we were in the present was the flat screen tv that seemed lost and strangely ugly on the vast expanse of the dresser.

The space was wonderful, the view fabulous and breakfast the next morning was also a trip down memory lane which was strange as my husband and I are too young to have memories of the music of long before pre-70's, such as Frank Sinatra playing in the background as you sit in the grand dining room, eating an assortment of goodies, drinking tea or coffee out of porcelain teapots and gazing down at the forests below.

A very, very different experience.

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel itself consists of separated bungallows, in each one are 3 or 4 apartments. The rooms are big, spacious and comfortable. The hotel itself seems to be very old (but not in a bad way) and classic.
It´s about 30 minutes away from the city centre, but the best way to travel is by car. When you travel y public transport, you have to walk 10 minutes up hill to reach the hotel, which can be uncomfortable every day..

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tereza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews