We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
20
34
20
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
34
20
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Whatever you do dont bok rom 14 - its TINY. Maybe the smallest hotel room I have ever been in. Just enough space for a single bed and a writing desk which I think doubles as a wardrobe. Thankfully the neighbouring room 12 was free - but guess what? It was GYNOURMOUS! You could easily fit five or six beds into it and I couldn't figure out why anyone would either want a room that big or a room that small.
The hotel was under renovation so no lunch or dinner served and theres no night reception - but this didn't bring the €65 rate down at all. Not right when you can move to a variety of surrounding hotels for the same rate and have all amenities working round the clock for the same price. Housekeeping only works in the morning, so should you be in your room for the morning, too bad for you.
The complimentary fridge stocked with water, four soft drinks and a couple of beers was, I thought a lovely touch - very in keeping with the friendly decor and intentions of the hotel.
Im told when the hotel is running normally the food is fabulous. The hotels owners also sell what appear to be homemade jams and preserves which are the first thing you notice when you enter and they gove you a complimentary jar when you leave.

Oh well.

Room Tip: Room 14 is tiny - unless you like it very very cozy.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Anexcellent family run hotel and restaurant with outstanding service and quality. Occupies a listed building in a quite area not far from the shopping area and centre. I would recommend it and return to stay withpleasure when I willbe in the area!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimitrialex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here whilst on business nearby, rooms are a bit hit and miss, some are big enough others are far too small. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was good with choice of pastries, cereals, fruit and eggs etc.

Evening meals were very good, lots to choose from, steaks, flamberkuchen, schnitzels etc and all very good.

Service was fine. Hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the city centre, which is worth exploring.

The one big let down with this place is the lack of air conditioning, when I stayed recently in July 2013, it was 30 - 35 degrees in Bayreuth and the rooms were stifling, it was like trying to sleep in an oven!

Room Tip: In the summer ask for a lower floor due to the heat!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Room fairly small. Comfortable beds, good shower. Street noisy but earplugs are provided; traffic noise stops overnight though. Blinds on windows to supplement thin curtains. Bottled water provided in room although the seal had been broken.
Excellent breakfast with plenty of variety. Fresh fruit salad was very nice. Twenty different sorts of jam.
Staff pleasant. Were given a jar of jam on departure.
Lockable shed for bicycle storage and we could leave our panniers for the day after checking out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orbit-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Having been told by locals that this unassuming Gasthof or inn had very good food, my wife and I decided to try it because it lay along one of the main bus routes and was close to where we were staying. We misunderstood the question if we wished to eat outside, chose the inside, and found a small, very unprepossessing dining room and thought we'd made a mistake. Ordering steaks, we found out our friends were correct: The excellent filets came with four small baked potatoes, and we also ordered a house or mixed salad, which turned out to a generous mixture of marinated and fresh vegetables. The meal was a wonderful respite from Bayreuth's more usual every good if heavy stews (Sauerbratten), many kinds of Wurst, and of course Schnitzel — breaded pork cutlets. Frau Helga took good care of us.

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews