We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE HOTEL - please read it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #115 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This year, in January 2012, I had the bad luck to stay in the worst hotel in Germany. Why do I say it? What do I mean by it? Well here are my reasons:
1. I was intoxicated with a toxic substance, ammonia (amoniac), during one of the nights there and I was about to die while sleeping. I called at the reception desk but the boy on duty (from the reception desk) did not want to help us (I and my collegue) in any way, he didn't even want to check the room. He said he couldn't leave the reception; the tone of his voice and his attitude weren't very friendly taking into account the situation which could have put our lives into danger (note that because of the intoxication with ammonia (amoniac) you can die while sleeping). We wanted to leave the hotel because the toxic smell of ammonia (amoniac) persisted in the room. They didn't do anything for an hour, they did't take any kind of measures. After an hour, at midnight, an older person came in and, scared, checked what we were telling them. He admitted that there was some smell of ammonia (amoniac) in the room coming from the fridge which had broken down "due to" the fact it was very "old" (15 years). Being night, we accepted a dirty small room without bathroom. The next day, we wanted to leave the hotel even if we still had three nights paid in advance there. At the reception desk, there was their chief reception, a very stupid young woman who didn't even apologise for the event happened the night before. In addition to it, she didn't want to give us either the check-out or the money we had given in advance for the three nights left. (we were offered only twenty percent of the total sum for the three nights left). In the end, we left and booked a room into another hotel (Unger), a very good one, which is opposite this horrible hotel Ricker.

2. The breakfast was terrible: very poor. The women who were bringing us the food didn't speak German or English. They were very clumsy.

3. The rooms weren't tidied very well. For 7 nights, our bed laundry was not changed, thing unacceptable as they are changed ofen in a good hotel.

4. The rooms are very old too, the hotel is in a poor situation, it is going to fall down.

However, the hotel used to be in an acceptable situation (it is true not in a very good one) a few years ago (when I had stayed there for the first time). But now, I've read that the hotel was taken over by a chain of hotels (Novum Hotels) which brought into this situation: unqualified staff, unchecked electric equipement, bad treatment of the clients as if they were some garbage.

I passed through a terrible experience which caused me health problems. That's why I also needed mediacal assistance. I advise you, from the bottom of my heart, not to stay or book a room in this hotel Ricker.

Best regards

Room Tip: no room is good
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ioana i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

The room was better than I expected for 30€, so close to the main station. Staff is friendly and the hotel is clean. If you are staying for 1 night and travel by train, look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This no-frills hotel is very conveniently situated, close to the main station and right in the middle of the city centre, making it ideal for travelers coming by train. The rooms are simple, yet functional and reasonably comfortable. The windows are well insulated and the double door between the room and the hallway blocks most of the noise. The bathroom is small but spotless and thoughtfully equipped with waste-saving soap dispensers.

The staff is nice and helpful and there is good-quality free WiFi in all rooms. The breakfast is nothing to write home about and definitely not worth the extra price they are asking if it wasn't included in your room. Nearby bakeries will offer vastly superior pastries and coffee for a fraction of that price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timtom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed six night at Rieker Stuttgart, single room. The hotel is little old and the room is small. But, the room was clean and staff was kind. Hi speed wireless internet was available. More than anything, the hotel is located just next of Stuttgart Central Station. It took only 1 minute, and an exit of underground passage leads to the station was just front of the hotel. So the hotel is very convenient for your business and trip. The cost was not expensive comparing others around the station. If you do not prioritize hotel rooms, I recommend the hotel from viewpoint of value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YassStainbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Simple hotel rooms with single beds. Unfortunately, at that time it was very humid and the hotel is not equipped with air conditionning. Lavatory is very small. Breakfast is included and is good. Nice hotel to stay when you are there for 1 day but for a week is too small.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
IntercityHotel Stuttgart
#52 of 146 in Stuttgart
268 reviews
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
#24 of 146 in Stuttgart
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#8 of 146 in Stuttgart
773 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Hotel Centro
#70 of 146 in Stuttgart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof

Address: Friedrichstr. 3, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Rieker Stuttgart Hotel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: ₹ 4,835 - ₹ 19,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Rieker is a small, modern hotel in the heart of Stuttgart. In the immediate vicinity of the main station located, it offers itself as an ideal base for guests who prefer a central location. All rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Here, discerning guests will feel happy here. The rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi internet access and are therefore particularly suitable for your business trips to Stuttgart. In just a few minutes you are in the city center with its many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rieker Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing