We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$227
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$227
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Agoda.com
$189
View deal
Hotels.com$227
Priceline$201
Hurb$236
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,547)
Filter reviews
2,547 results
Traveller rating
1,280
829
282
100
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,280
829
282
100
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station walk in closet junior suite central location the main shopping street excellent breakfast per day spa cigar hauptbahnhof germany euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,547 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2022

Safe underground parking, smooth check-in. Comfortable and quite large, well-appointed rooms and bathrooms. Located right in the center of the city with many restaurant options in the neighborhood, of which the hotel´s own rate among the best in Stuttgart.
Overall a premium experience and very good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaxTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holger Flory, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Dear esteemed Max,

Thank you very much for the excellent evaluation of our hotel. We highly appreciate that!

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin and liked all of our services and facilities.
We hope to welcoming you back soon and remain in the meantime

with best regards

Holger Flory
General Manager
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022

Four nights in a junior suite - luxury bed for two, pity it's too soft, but the third bed for the kid is awfully uncomfortable. One should know that the hotel is is the middle of a huge building site - the railway station is being reconstructed. Both restaurants are closed, despite having been told that one is open, so only room service. Personnel are polite, everybody speaks English, the room was clean, but there's no 5-star feeling. The soap and shower gel are in squeezing wall dispensers, Complementary water means one small bottle for the whole stay, not one per day. Toilet seat lid in not soft-closing, a big surprise. You wan to stay an extra day - no problem, but if you want to leave one day earlier - no refund. So, we paid five star price for a four star hotel in a central location but a construction site with no amenities one would expect. A very disappointing experience.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderGeneva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holger Flory, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Dear esteemed Alexander,

Thank you very much for the evaluation of your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you here.

We hope that you were able to enjoy your overall time in Stuttgart and apologize for the inconveniences occurred.
Please be sure that we were forced to close our restaurant for one evening during your stay and if there would have been a chance to offer that service to you, we would have done so.

It is our aim to reduce waste in all possible ways, so that is the reason why we use the soap dispensers. Thank you for your understanding for the sake of enviroment.

Thank you for bringing the toilet seat to our attention. For we are about to update our guest rooms anyway, that is a good point to think about.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back to the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin to positively surprise you.

With best regards

Holger Flory
General Manager
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2022

Due to the pandemic we had to cancel other New Year's Eve plans and chose to stay a bit closer to home. This was an excellent choice! Unfortunately I can't attest to the salon, spa, or pool (all are off our to-do list until Germany's numbers are down), but everything else about this hotel was amazing. Everyone spoke excellent English, were very accommodating, and the restaurant requires a review all its' own (magnificent!!). If we had to find anything that didn't deserve a five-star rating, it would be the streaming service (lost Netflix connection frequently), however, everything else at this hotel made up for that. You couldn't ask for a better location; it's across the street from the Hauptbahnhof, and one block away from more shopping than you can do in a day! Every hotel in the world should offer an "Olaf"! Olaf is the most outstanding of this hotel's very service-oriented staff; he is everywhere you need him to be right when you need him there!! If we owned a hotel chain, we would be trying to hire him away from the Graf Zeppelin - he's that good!!

This hotel also has an elegant cigar bar. Although I'm not into cigars, it's so elegant that I did not mind accompanying my husband there. My husband's exact words were "this place has the very best cigars I've ever tried, and an exquisite class of whiskey!"

And thanks to Olaf, our preferred table was reserved in the restaurant and in the cigar bar every evening; We will definitely return to this hotel!

Oh, I forgot to mention.......we've traveled a lot and have been in a lot of hotels; this was the first that offered a WALK-IN closet with ample storage storage! The two sinks in the bathroom, both a tub AND a shower were also a plus....comforts of home! (We were in a junior suite)

Room tip: Not sure there are any good views until Hauptbahnhof construction is finished; Afterwards, all front facing rooms would be great!
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spncrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holger Flory, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear esteemed guest,

Thank you so much for your outstanding evaluation! We forwarded your excellent praise to Olaf and thank you also in his name.
It is a pleasure for us that you spent a memorable time at our hotel and enjoyed your visit to Stuttgart.

Thank you for bringing the streaming service to our attention. Everything is working well now.
We hope to welcoming you back for a future occasion and remain in the meantime

with best regards

Holger Flory
General Manager
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2021

Nice stay in the hotel. Very good service, quite big rooms, good breakfast and nice location near by the Centre of the Stuttgart. Definitely reccomend a hotel those who would like to visit a city.....

Date of stay: December 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank siemowit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holger Flory, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2021

Dear Siemowit,

Thank you so much for your outstanding evaluation!
It is a pleasure for us that you spent a memorable time at our hotel and enjoyed your visit to Stuttgart.
We hope to welcoming you back for a future occasion and remain in the meantime

with best regards

Holger Flory
General Manager
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2021

We were there this month. Since our last visit the Hotel fell down even farer. The 5 star rating is no more justified. Swimmingpool is out of order for about 2 years now and will not be repaired, sauna was open but no room for the periods of rest. As the pool is now closed you can stay in a very small space between sauna and shower. Not 5* like. The Olivorestaurant that was once a Michelin star rated place is closed just as the nice large breakfast room with a view, both on the 1st floor. You can take breakfast now in the small and dark steakrestaurant Zeppelino's. Our room on the 1st floor was noisy near the sevice lift and we heard a lot of noise from the road. Especially on friday night and in the morning hours. Glasses in the bathroom were not replaced all over our stay.

Room tip: don't accept anoisy 1st floor
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aboissaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holger Flory, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2021

Dear esteemed guest,

Thank you for the evaluation of your stay with us. We appreciate that you visited us again and hope that you were able to enjoy your overall time in Stuttgart.

Indeed we have no pool which is the reason why we do not advertise it on any official booking website. Please be sure that we are more than happy to assist you also during your stay. Just let us know if we can provide you with information or take care of noises next to your room to ensure you have a great stay. At the moment we are about to consider which option we would like to choose for re-opening the OLIVO Restaurant.

Therefore we appreciate to welcome you again after re-opening, so we can delight you with a 2 michelin star cuisine.

With kind regards

Holger Flory
General Manager
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews