We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nice location downtown with a city parking garage underneath it. Overall a nice looking hotel. Several gripes: only one key card for my family of 4. The "individual climate control" for our room was not. Turning the thermastat did not affect the temperature, which was way too warm. They offered us a one little fan which helped a little but it was 91 degrees outside. Not cool. They splash page online advertises wifi in the rooms, but you have to look more carefully to find out they charge you €10-13 per day for it. The "heated" indoor swimming pool is kept at a lap pool temperature -- too cold for most American kids to want to play in it, but typical for Germany.
The one thing I would say was impressive was their breakfast buffet. Kids eat free, adults only €15, with full cooked breakfast, nice fresh pastries, fruit, & standard European breakfast fare. All in a nice indoor or quite pretty outdoor upper deck terrace. What a steal!! I'd come back for the breakfast but would try somewhere to stay the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear SWHighlander,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to know you found our location convenient. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the thermostat. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

This Hotel situated above shops in the main city centre was full the weekend I stayed there as the German F1 Grand Prix was being held at nearby Hockenheim. The Hotel Reception is on the first floor and it is not immediately obvious that the escalators at the entrance take you there and I went thru the doors and up in the lift which was a pain with 3 bags. Reception staff were apologetic that due to F1 and coach tours the hotel was full and they could not do me upgrade me as a platinum priority club member to a better room. After carrying you bags up 4 or 5 stairs the lifts are reached and the room was found. The room was clean with good bathroom and the windows opened onto the side hotel onto the street where many cafes have pavement terraces, (thank you HI Mannheim for still having windows that open).
The bar staff were attentive and spent some time explaining and pouring samples of the different draft beers so that I could find one that I liked. The menu in the bar was good with a sensible number of choices. While I was there was a Mushroom theme on and there were an additional 6 vegetarian options. The walk to the station took just over 10 mins and the train to Hockenheim was easily reached, en route there were a number of café serving pastries and was tempted to stop off.
All in all I would stay here again if visiting the area or for the F1

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knotty2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our family stayed in two adjacent rooms here for 5 nights in early June. Our rooms were modern and updated. Beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and well equipped.

The indoor pool area is on the top floor. Small shallow pool, not really for lap swimmers. Nice sauna and shower areas.

Our favorite was the breakfast buffet. A first-class selection of traditional European and American breakfast items, very hard to choose! Definitely worth including with your room rate. Service is crisp and efficient.

In general this is a business hotel, but our large group of families felt comfortable and welcome here.

Couple of odd items. As the previous reviewer noted, the room keys would stop working every day. They were promptly replaced at the front desk each time, but not a word of explanation.

Also: US guests must be aware of the bed sizes in Europe. This hotel's "queen" mattress is really a US "full" (slightly wider than a twin), enough for 1 person. This hotel's "king" mattress, is really a US "queen", enough for two people. Book rooms accordingly, don't assume you will be able to squeeze. A standard room here contains either two queens or 1 king, and you will find out only when you check in, which type you'll get!

Overall a nice hotel, just steps away from the main promenade through the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernCal-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have only 3 days and every day after breakfast go to my room and find the key does not work. I have one more week left, let see what happens. Very clean hotel and right in the centre of Mannheim. But the room are old and dated. My last visit was 10 years ago and everything remains the same.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Right in the centre of Mannheim – 10 minutes walk from the station, and 30 seconds from the main shopping street.
Not a new property but reasonably modern. I was given an Executive Room which was very large indeed, in fact if anything it was too large for the size of television. From the bed it was difficult to follow what was going on! Decent bathroom, good shower.

Gym facilities very limited. 2 static cardio machines (bike, elliptical) and one treadmill. Nothing else. There is reasonable swimming pool though if that is your bag. I certainly wouldn’t say that it was a fitness room though, so beware of staying here if you are looking to have a full workout whilst on the road.

Breakfast was excellent. Full buffet, plenty of options. Could have done with more healthy options though – no Soy milk, and poorly labeled milk choices (Semi skimmed, skimmed, low lactose etc)

All in all, a perfectly acceptable choice, but I’ll be staying somewhere with a better gym.

Room Tip: Exec Rooms are best
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear kissthesunsetpig,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am delighted that you liked the convenient location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations and the breakfast you had during your stay. I apologize that our gym facilities fell below your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.9 km away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.7 km away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.5 km away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
132 reviews
0.4 km away
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
#20 of 45 in Mannheim
336 reviews
0.5 km away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center

Address: N 6 3-7, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range: ₹ 5,252 - ₹ 13,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Mannheim and with upscale equipment the Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center is ideal for the sophisticated business and leisure traveller. The hotel is the perfect starting-point, if you are a visitor of an international congress at the Congress Center Rosengarten Mannheim, of exclusive sport and music events at the SAP Arena Mannheim or one of the numerous representations at the Nationaltheater Mannheim. Resident global companies such as BASF, Roche Diagnostics, John Deere and ABB are only a few minutes away from the hotel. Extended shopping areas directly close to the hotel, walks at the Luisenpark Mannheim or a view to the stars from the Planetarium are only a small outlook to the further various offers in Mannheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mannheim City Centre Hotel Mannheim
Mannheim Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing