We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view- excellent service”
Review of Hotel Am Schloss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Am Schloss
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Once we found where to park, all was excellent. Hotel is built over a parking garage, so guests must park car and take elevator through very basic entry consisting of two small elevators and locked door
which was opened by desk agent when bell was rung. This is a small intimate hotel with clean cozy rooms and compact bathrooms. It was a challenge to open two suitcases. Room 8 had a partial view of castle and full view of houses built up the hillside.The location and service by the lovely Martina ( the only staff we saw) outweighed any possible negatives. Martina made tea for us upon arrival and took phone number to call us when wayward suitcase was delivered by courier. Good value @ 99 Euros including a typical German breakfast of cold meats, cheeses and fruit. There is a beautiful terrace which would be a fantastic setting for breakfast in warm months. Ticket booth for funicular to castle is located at ground level in parking garage and walking path to castle is only steps away. Very convenient for walking to the old city as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one with view of castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently set in the old town of Heidelberg, a few minutes walk from the castle and a minute walk from the shopping and restaurant area of town.

Despite being set inside a shopping complex / multi-storey car park and it is not always clear which way to get in, once in the rooms are clean, the breakfast is good and service is friendly.

The best point about the hotel were the views of the castle, but you have to choose rooms 1-3.

We looked around quite a bit when looking for somewhere to stay in Heidelberg and given the price tag, it was a good value for money for such a central area.

Room Tip: If you want to have nice views of the castle and some nice old houses set on the hill on which the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I was there on business with a couple of colleagues. The hotel is on top of a multi-storey car park, and you get there by going up in the car-park lift. First impression not very scenic. Things improve on reaching this small hotel which gives out partly on to the famous Schloss which is just above it on the same hill. Hotel also has a terrace whence you can admire the view. Rooms small and rather dingy but clean and everything works. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. If your room gives out onto the street rather than the Schloss, it can get very noisy at night, said my colleagues. I was fortunate and had a very good night's sleep. Buffet-breakfast in pleasant sunny dining area or on the terrace depending on weather. Hotel is in the centre of historic Heidelberg (on the edge of the "Pedestrians only" zone), and so within stone's throw of all the main sites and monuments. Apart from people on business it seems to attract families with children. Paying parking places in the multi-storey car park. just below.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I don't know what they were thinking when this building was allowed to be built in the old part of Heidelberg, but it is a great spot for a hotel! The location is excellent - right above the furnicular to the castle, walking distance to everything else in Heidelberg, and parking at reasonable rates in the multi-storey carpark below. The building, however, is ugly!! We booked this room on the recommendation of the Heidelberg Tourism Centre, and were not disappointed.

We stayed here for two nights with our two toddlers in a very spacious room with plenty of space for the sofa bed and a cot. The bathroom (with a bath) was also very spacious. There was also a fridge in the room (with a well-stocked minibar). The breakfast was your normal German breakfast which was enjoyed by all. There was also a bowl of fruit near reception where you could help yourself.

The nearest park was a good 15mins walk away (wonderful directions were provided by the young fellow at reception), but the kids had an amazing time once we were there. We stayed in Heidelberg for the Heidelberg Castle Illuminations - a fireworks display over the castle and river, which is held three times a year. From our hotel we were able to easily walk to the other side of the river to find a great vantage point to see the light show.

We would definitely stay here again were we ever to return to Heidelberg. The service was very friendly and very helpful, and the location and facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusFamOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel am Schloss. This was not our first time in Heidelberg but was the first stay at this hotel. It was unexpectedly nice, quiet, friendly staff, good accomodations and breakfast. Also had an English language newspaper. We would return again to the hotel. It is as written in other reviews,: near the castle, Hauptstrasse and restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with view of castle and old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
601 reviews
0.6 km away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
226 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
#21 of 76 in Heidelberg
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
527 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
207 reviews
1.5 km away
Bayrischer Hof
Bayrischer Hof
#23 of 76 in Heidelberg
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Schloss? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Schloss

Address: Zwingerstr. 20, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: ₹ 9,430 - ₹ 11,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Schloss 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schloss Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing