We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful night!”

Scharff's Restaurantschiff auf der HS Patria
Ranked #133 of 536 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 33
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went for a romantic dinner on the Patria. It was a beautiful evening. We arrived around 6:30 to have a drink before our dinner. We were made very welcomed by the crew and had a delicious sparkling wine on the bow of the boat and appreciated the view of the castle then, as the boat started the trip, we sat and had our delicious meal. It was beautiful and the food and wine were delicious. Really worth it!

Thank neidec2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Scharff's Restaurantschiff auf der HS Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks a lot for this nice review. We are happy, your romantic dinner was a success and we hope to see you back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017

great location set inside the Heidelberg Castle walls. Loved the artworks in here, we sat outside in the open terrace which has excellent views of the old castle courtyard. Food was excellent I enjoyed the Smoked Eel with cucumber and Horeraddish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnjjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Scharff's Restaurantschiff auf der HS Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Johnjjee, thanks a lot for your visit and the nice review. We are happy, you did enjoy your time on our restaurant-ship and we hope to see you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our dinner. The entire staff was fabulous. The bartender and chef were so professional and nice. The food was amazing. Definitely a place to go if you enjoy seafood. We let the chef pick our menu for us which was the best way to go. The cruise part is fine. It is short, but you get to go through the lock twice which was pretty cool. The boat is really lovely. It was top to bottom a relaxing and delicious dining experience.

Thank SnorkleChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

Thanks a lot for your visit and the nice recommendation of our Patria. We are happy, you did enjoy your time with us and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

A number of ships offer dinner cruises on the Neckar River at Heidelberg, but most of them are large modern ships, whereas the H.S. Patria is a small, historic boat that provides a much more intimate experience, with seating for only 30 diners. My wife and I started our evening with drinks on the upper deck and then at 8 p.m we went below for dinner and the cruise on the Neckar began. The cruise offers interesting views of Heidelberg and its surroundings, and then you return to Heidelberg and anchor next to the historic old bridge with a fantastic view of the Heidelberg castle (especially if you are at one of the smaller tables on the right side of the boat). On a small boat like this, the kitchen is also small, so the menu choices are limited, but the chef makes every effort to accommodate your wishes. We were in Heidelberg during the white asparagus season, so that was the main course (with a choice of different fish or meat as accompaniment). Everything was tastefully prepared, and there was also a nice selection of wines to go with the meal. I recommend this restaurant highly for the overall experience and the beautiful views of Heidelberg, especially during the evening when the historic old bridge and castle are illuminated. If the cruise and views are not so important to you, you may want to choose a more traditional restaurant with a wider range of menu choices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmericanAbroad15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 June 2017

Thanks a lot - we are really happy, you did enjoy your evening with us. We hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I had a had a fantastic dinner with coworkers on the HS Patria last night. The food was elegant, fresh, flavorful, and beautifully presented. I had a main course of salmon (lach) , a dessert of a strawberry mousse. Even the bread on the table was fanastic, with olives or nuts.

The views from the boat are great. Our dinner was during the hours before and after sunset, with golden light shining on the Heidelberg castle. The boat did a little cruise, upriver through the locks then a bit downriver from our starting point.

All in all, I'd recommend the HS Patria highly.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 May 2017

Thanks a lot for the visit and this great review. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scharff's Restaurantschiff auf der HS Patria also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Scharff's Restaurantschiff auf der HS Patria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing