We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, nice breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GuestHouse Heidelberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GuestHouse Heidelberg
Ranked #2 of 12 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The rooms were 'cozy', however, street side is noisy (up until 2-4am) and since it was warm, we wanted to have our windows open. However, due to noise, we had to close them. Enjoyed the breakfasts provided (fresh pastries and nice sandwiches). Good location, close to tram / bus to get to train to/from airport. Good tip: Take tram instead of walking a few miles to hotel from train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
30
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very centrally located, 10 -15 minutes’ walk to the old town and funicular to the castle. The room we were given looked out on Bergheimer Str which is one of the main streets into the centre and has trams running past. The windows were well sound proofed so no sound of traffic. The room was like a mini apartment, large and airy, and had a fridge, kettle and coffee maker plus plates and cutlery. Tea bags and coffe were provided and there were drinks available in the fridge (to be paid for). The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had an excellent large shower, everything was sparkling clean. A small but more than adequate breakfast buffet is served next to the reception which is included in the room rate. There was a choice of tea, coffee, juices, yoghurts, sweet pastries and delicious savoury sandwiches more than enough for a hearty start to the day. The reception itself is not open 24/7 but your room key allows you to enter by the main door when the reception is closed. We arrived after the reception had closed but if you notify a late arrival you are given instructions as to how to access the hotel and reach your room. There is also an emergency phone number to call on the main door if necessary.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquelinehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Our family (2 adults, 1 three-year-old) stayed at GuestHouse Heidelberg for two weeks while my husband was in Heidelberg on business. The studio was generally comfortable and stylish with a very large double bed, a small writing table, a kitchenette, and a spacious, clean, modern bathroom with a roomy shower (no bathtub). Our ground-floor room had high ceilings, which made the room seem more open, despite having windows that looked out only onto a small inner courtyard. There was room enough for the sturdy toddler-sized travel bed that was provided by the GuestHouse.

The location was very convenient, just a few minutes' walk from the Bismarckplatz transportation hub and the edge of the old town. It's very close to restaurants, shopping, and supermarkets, and just a few blocks away from the river. Pushing a stroller, we were able to walk over to the beginning of the Philosopher's Walk in about 20-25 minutes (including the steep approach) and the path to the castle in about the same amount of time.

Although we had a fine stay at the GuestHouse, I'd say that for self-catering stays, the GuestHouse is better suited for couples and business travelers than for families. We ended up not using the kitchenette to cook, as it was rather too small for preparing meals and storing any significant amount of food other than snacks for three people, and there was not enough space for the three of us to eat at the writing table at the same time anyway. Outside the room, the lobby (the only common space) is quite small and is not really designed as an eating space, even though guests can eat breakfast (pastries, savory sandwiches, yogurt, juice, coffee) there.

But overall the GuestHouse is offers very nice accommodation at a reasonable rate and is a good base for exploring Heidelberg.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

i felt very comfortable during our stay! the staff was friendly and helpful. they offered me a push bike to get around and repaired it immediatly as it was broken. in the mornings you can pick a little sandwich and some juice at the entry.
the first night we had a room towards the street on the first floor, which was quite noisy and bright during the night, but very spaceous. the following morning we could move to the top floor and we had a very nice and cosy room for the rest of the week. the bed was wonderful!
it's not a problem to arrive late, as you get a code to get to your room key. the guesthouse is well situated. you are at the beginning of the pedestrian area with shops, restaurants and supermarkets around and you get fast in and out of heidelberg from there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausseertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Guest House Heidelberg in early May. This hotel has fairly new rooms that are spacious by European standards, and about average by American Standards. Being new, they have great bathrooms for Europe, and have a clean, uncluttered feel about them. They also have nice flat screen TVs with CNN International and the BBC for English speakers. Rooms in the back facing the courtyard are generally quiet for a big city hotel.
The other great thing about this hotel is the location. The building is situated a few minutes walk from the Hauptstrasse shopping street and the old city of Heidelberg. Everything is pretty much within easy walking distance, yet the hotel itself is in the non-touristy part of town.
One thing to be aware of – the hotel advertises Internet Connectivity. But it is not wireless. They only have the old fashioned DSL cable connections, so it won’t work with an iPad, iPhone, etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.5 km away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.6 km away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#9 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
1.3 km away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#2 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.2 km away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Heidelberg

Property: GuestHouse Heidelberg
Address: Bergheimer Str. 24, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,605 - ₹ 8,155
Hotel Class:3 star — GuestHouse Heidelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your GuestHouse Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing