We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Gasthaus Gunterstal
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We booked into our hotel just down the road only to find lunch had finished. We walked just a few paces on to find this restaurant open so popped inside. Warm welcome from Two members of staff and shown a table In a lovely restaurant. The menu was delicious. As it was in German the young man server helped with translation and the food did not disappoint. Soup followed by schnitzel which was perfectly cooked with a fab sauce. When we were about to request the bill we remembered we had left everything in the hotel. We explained the situation and the server allowed us time to go back for the wallet. A very trusting gesture and one which we appreciated. A lovely restaurant warm atmosphere. If we are here again we would definitely revisit.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank ettyspagetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We were delighted with lunch today at the Kybfelsen restaurant. The food was excellent (we all had pork - cooked to perfection - with a mushroom cream sauce and Bragele and an accompanying mixed salad), the service was friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere relaxed. It was our first visit and we shall certainly return!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DianamF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We stopped there by a chance on our way back from a trip to Schauinsland and were a group of very hungry adults with three kids. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, I loved my veggie option of "Süßkartoffel-Kokos-Curryragoût mit buntem Gemüse und Berglinsen". The service was also fine. Only on our way out we discovered a little area for kids outside of the main service room, so we will remember it for next time.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aluska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

My cousin who lives in Freiburg recommended this place to us, and I am happy to recommend it to others. It's a really friendly local pub/Biergarten with delicious food and super beer. There are local red wines on the menu too - well worth trying! We ate schnitzel (both pork and veal versions are on the menu) but the variety on the menu ranges from the local "Flammkuchen" through game casseroles to salads and also some fish dishes.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent. It's well worth the short trip away from "downtown" Freiburg.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Lovely setting in an open air Biergarten. One is made very welcome from the moment your arrive. Food good, mature sirloin steak with red wine sauce and young runner beans, veal cordon bleu - fabulous chips. Carafe of Riesling. Please note you cannot pay by credit card unless it is drawn on a German bank - so take cash!! This is a very popular venue so book in advance

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthaus Gunterstal also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Gasthaus Gunterstal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing