We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good - recommended for stay in Baden Baden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quite good - recommended for stay in Baden Baden”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We entered the hotel Löwen because it was close to the Spa and because it was a three star hotel. We wanted it to be minimum three stars.

I would probably rate this between three and four stars. The room was definitely clean, silent, high standard - not a great view, but none needed. The beds were good quality, clean. The shower was very good, the bathroom clean and nice and of high standard.

The restaurant was very good offering Bavarian dishes. Not big restaurant, but folksy and local type. The breakfast next morning was across the tiny town square and into a separate hotel where there was a small breakfast, although more than sufficient.

We paid 95 Euros for a room, and that was a really good deal in my eyes. Probably the best value for money for the trip we had.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
36
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The Hotel is in the Center, I would agree in the summer it could be a little noisy with windows being open.

The room was a good size clean with comfortable bed

Breakfast is in cafe opposite

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

A perfectly good hotel situated right in the middle of the main pedestrianised street and close to the thermal baths. The bedroom was adequetly, if old-fashionedly, furnished but the en-suite looked brand new and was kept sparklingly clean - it had a bath tub as well as shower. The only problem - and it is the same for all the central Baden hotels - is that the hotel has it's own restaurant / bar outside. Consequently it's noisy from about midday to midnight, when it closes - not normally a problem but if you've arrived as we did on a very early flight, having had to get up at 4.00am, we really needed an early night - not possible here!

By the way the breakfast was fine - previous report seemed to be disappointed to get a continental breakfast while staying on....er...the continent! What did they expect - a pig roast with dancing girls???

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DandareOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

We were in Baden Baden for the first time in June-07. We got there by chance, without any reservation. We slept our first night at the Alte Laterne (see separate review), but unfortunately. they where fully booked for the second night.

My guess is that the hotels, who are situated on a sqare in the middle of the pedestrian zone, have the same owner. So they arranged for us to stay the second night at Zum Goldenen Löwen.

Goldenen Löwen is clean, newly renowated, completely without charm and also more expensive than Alte Laterne. We were also unlucky to get a room without view (see pictures and compare with Alte Laterne)

My overall experience (3) is because the neighboring hotel Alte Laterne offers everything that you get at Goldenen Löwen, but with charm and at a lesser price.

  • Liked — Clean. location
  • Disliked — That we had to move here because our first hotel were fully booked
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We first tried the Am Markt based on the reviews here but as they were booked we ended up here and liked it very much. It had been remodeled, all hard wood flooring, non smoking, clean, etc. Like the rest of European hotels, you mustnt expect a bath tub and unfortunately they beds were those that are like two twins put together . Otherwaie we had a stay stay and the hotel restuarant was also quite nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smoking reception...grosssssssss!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Alte Laterne
Hotel Alte Laterne
#21 of 50 in Baden-Baden
110 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Roemerhof
Hotel Roemerhof
#30 of 50 in Baden-Baden
65 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Etol
Hotel Etol
#19 of 50 in Baden-Baden
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#8 of 50 in Baden-Baden
243 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Bischoff
Hotel Bischoff
#38 of 50 in Baden-Baden
43 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Haus Reichert
Hotel Haus Reichert
#33 of 50 in Baden-Baden
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen

Property: Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Address: Gernsbacher Str. 9, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,969 - ₹ 10,001
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing