We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of cockcroaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Lausanne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of cockcroaches”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

cockcroaches...if u like them, a good deal. restaurant is dirty, heavy meals, awful atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
34
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Altus, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

First I would like to say that you cannot get any closer to the Thermal Baths - unless you stay in one over night. The location to all the major sights is remarkable.
The hotel itself is in need of a face lift. Very out dated lobby and restaurant with clutter on the walls from an age long past. I am not opposed to classic hotels or botique hotels - that is the reason we love Baden Baden - but this place looks like a granny's house.

I will admitt that the rooms were clean - very simple, but clean - so was the bathroom. I wish they had dead bolts on the doors - very simple lock and key. Not really any ammenities in the room though - besides a 20 year old TV.

Breakfast is included in the room, but very cheaply done - you can do better if you leave the hotel and walk to one of the many great cafes on the streets.

The staff were fine - not rude or anything. Definitely did not go out of thier way to impress you. We paid 125 Euro/night for a hotel that should be 70 Euro (and be a 2 star instead of 3). My impression is that they are preying on thier location, and not investing in thier hotel - very cheap management. Just a little remodeling would do wonders for them.

So - good location, but spend your time out of it. Look for a better price - recommend the Hotel Am Markt.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetdriver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Upon first entereing this hotel I was dismayed at the lack of foyer, no one at the desk and what seemed to be lack of interest in helping us check in.
That changed once we got to our room however. The room was very large, newly update, and the bathroom was wonderful.
I had a problem getting hot water and called down to ask for help. They came immediately, with two glasses of champagne it tow, to solve the problem.
Breakfast is included and although they aren't very good at keeping it stocked, it was a basic German breakfast and not bad.
I was told by one of the cleaning ladies is that every room has different items in them. We had a very small old tv, yet the one next to us had a large flat screen. She said you just have to ask since each room is different. Some have terraces, big screen tv's etc. So be sure to ask for what you want.

The Thermal bath just next door, is wonderful, although be aware that it is an all nude bathhouse. Since my husband is from Europe he was okay with that and took the opportunity to enjoy the place. He loved it. A three hour experience for about $50. I would have done it if it was only women in one area, but on this particular day it was co-ed. They do have single sex days however.
Ice Capri is the place to go for coffee and to people watch. It's about a ten minute walk at the most through a lovely pedistrian area.
Lowenbrau's serves basic German food, great service. Goulash is quite nice.
Overall, this hotel is a great location, great room. The rest you just have to be flexible with. You realize that you are not paying the same prices you would pay at the other places and if that's a goal, then you should be okay!
Go to the restaurant just next to the Casino. Lovely to sit outside. And pack a jacket if you want to get in to the Casino. We really wanted to go in, but the men need a jacket.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank got2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This hotel is right beside the Friedrichsbad and in the pedestrianized area of the town. The exterior is extremely pretty but the inside does not quite match up. There have been some unsympathetic alterations over the years. Our room was, however, spacious, clean and had a good bathroom, although the furnishings were somewhat dated. There is a restaurant, but we only had breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

The location can't be beat; the Friedrichsbad and Caracalla
are just across the street.

The staff are helpful and friendly.

If you're traveling with pets, this is a dog-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WheresMyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Roemerhof
Hotel Roemerhof
#29 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
#25 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bischoff
Hotel Bischoff
#39 of 50 in Baden-Baden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#6 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Haus Reichert
Hotel Haus Reichert
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 km away
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben

Property: Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben
Address: Gernsbacher Strasse 31, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,314 - ₹ 10,741
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing