We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is an old hotel in the best location for the spas and the pedestrian area. It is not boutique chic or Accor group slick it is however fun. The menu is a mess written in about 7 different typefaces but the food is always good, served quickly by the friendly waiter. The entrance is a mess too but in an old fashioned interesting way full of old pictures and postcards.

There are plastic lobsters and a backwards clock on display which the children love! The apple strudel is just the thing on a cold day. Eating on the terrace next to a lovely old fountain is wonderful in summer.
I must stress though that the whole hotel is CLEAN. We have never had a problem with cleanliness.

Thank goodness hotels like this still exist, we always enjoy staying here (about 12 times now) and wouldn't change any of it.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebastabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2010

Family athmosphere , great czech cuisine, super location..

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

cockcroaches...if u like them, a good deal. restaurant is dirty, heavy meals, awful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

First I would like to say that you cannot get any closer to the Thermal Baths - unless you stay in one over night. The location to all the major sights is remarkable.
The hotel itself is in need of a face lift. Very out dated lobby and restaurant with clutter on the walls from an age long past. I am not opposed to classic hotels or botique hotels - that is the reason we love Baden Baden - but this place looks like a granny's house.

I will admitt that the rooms were clean - very simple, but clean - so was the bathroom. I wish they had dead bolts on the doors - very simple lock and key. Not really any ammenities in the room though - besides a 20 year old TV.

Breakfast is included in the room, but very cheaply done - you can do better if you leave the hotel and walk to one of the many great cafes on the streets.

The staff were fine - not rude or anything. Definitely did not go out of thier way to impress you. We paid 125 Euro/night for a hotel that should be 70 Euro (and be a 2 star instead of 3). My impression is that they are preying on thier location, and not investing in thier hotel - very cheap management. Just a little remodeling would do wonders for them.

So - good location, but spend your time out of it. Look for a better price - recommend the Hotel Am Markt.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetdriver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Upon first entereing this hotel I was dismayed at the lack of foyer, no one at the desk and what seemed to be lack of interest in helping us check in.
That changed once we got to our room however. The room was very large, newly update, and the bathroom was wonderful.
I had a problem getting hot water and called down to ask for help. They came immediately, with two glasses of champagne it tow, to solve the problem.
Breakfast is included and although they aren't very good at keeping it stocked, it was a basic German breakfast and not bad.
I was told by one of the cleaning ladies is that every room has different items in them. We had a very small old tv, yet the one next to us had a large flat screen. She said you just have to ask since each room is different. Some have terraces, big screen tv's etc. So be sure to ask for what you want.

The Thermal bath just next door, is wonderful, although be aware that it is an all nude bathhouse. Since my husband is from Europe he was okay with that and took the opportunity to enjoy the place. He loved it. A three hour experience for about $50. I would have done it if it was only women in one area, but on this particular day it was co-ed. They do have single sex days however.
Ice Capri is the place to go for coffee and to people watch. It's about a ten minute walk at the most through a lovely pedistrian area.
Lowenbrau's serves basic German food, great service. Goulash is quite nice.
Overall, this hotel is a great location, great room. The rest you just have to be flexible with. You realize that you are not paying the same prices you would pay at the other places and if that's a goal, then you should be okay!
Go to the restaurant just next to the Casino. Lovely to sit outside. And pack a jacket if you want to get in to the Casino. We really wanted to go in, but the men need a jacket.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank got2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
2 km away
Allee Hotel Leidinger
Allee Hotel Leidinger
#31 of 50 in Baden-Baden
22 reviews
0.3 km away
Magnetberg Hotel
Magnetberg Hotel
#18 of 50 in Baden-Baden
147 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser
#28 of 50 in Baden-Baden
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hote Loehr
Hote Loehr
#39 of 50 in Baden-Baden
116 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alte Laterne
Hotel Alte Laterne
#21 of 50 in Baden-Baden
119 reviews
0.3 km away
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
#15 of 50 in Baden-Baden
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben

Address: Gernsbacher Strasse 31, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range: ₹ 6,416 - ₹ 10,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing