We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$200
Hotels.com$200
Priceline$208
Travelocity$199
Vio.com$208
Orbitz.com$200
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
240
173
44
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
240
173
44
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public car park nice hotel grand hotel rooms are comfortable no air conditioning first floor centre of town conference robes sofa merkur
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2022

The hotel looked after me very well, recommending and booking a restaurant for dinner (the hotel does not have one). My room was comfortable but lacked air conditioning, so if that is important please ask.
Driving to the hotel can be a nightmare because of pedestrian zones, but the hotel provides an access route. Spaces in the garage are limited, so you might end up in a public car park - street parking in the centre is difficult.
The breakfast was generous and served in a lovely light room on the first floor.
The hotel is very well situated for all sights of Baden-Baden - everything is very walkable.

Room tip: Ask for a room with bath or a/c if these are important.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M Böhme, Sonstige at Hotel am Sophienpark, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2022

Many thanks for being our guest and for having taken your time to write such a detailed feedback. I am happy you enjoyed a nice time in our hotel and in Baden-Baden. Your description I helpful and we like to ad, that our apartments are equipped with AC, all the other rooms have a fan. We would be happy to consult you concerning the next booking.Taking the breakfast on the park terrace is a special enjoyment in summer and often the temperatures are even moderate enough in fall. There is a lot to discover in Baden-Baden and we’d love to provide you with more information. We all would be happy to welcome you back in the near future, yours Michael Böhme (managing director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2021

Stayed here for a two day conference. It's in a great position right in the centre of town and therefore close to most things. Doesn't actually feel like a four star hotel but rooms are comfortable (except for the usual frustrating duvets which are always too small for the bed- must be a German thing!). Food was very good through the two days but hotel misses a bar. Can't comment on the rest of the facilities- didn't get a chance to use any.

Room tip: choose a room overlooking the gardens
Date of stay: September 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 171andyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M Böhme, Sonstige at Hotel am Sophienpark, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Many thanks for being our guest and for having taken your time to write your friendly feedback. I am happy you had a successful conference in our hotel. Actually we do not run a bar on a regular basis, since there are so many good bars in direct vicinity. Groups can book our hotel bar in the so called „Bauernstube“ which is quiet cosy specially in the winter time. With its thermal baths, great restaurants and vivid cultural scene Baden-Baden is a wonderful town for a relaxed stay. If we can provide you with some further infos, please contact us. We would be all happy to welcome you back in the near future, yours Michael Böhme (managing director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

This is a lovely old style grand hotel with high ceilings and beautiful staircase central to the hotel taking you up the 5 floors. There is a lift for the less energetic!
Our room was huge with a sofa and chairs, a hall area to put the clothes and luggage, an en-suite bath, shower etc, TV, and 2 large windows that opened out over the street below. Initially we had concern about the noise potential particularly as it was still very warm, but it didn’t bother us.

If you’re looking for a little bit of gentile charm you’ve come to the right place here.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JaneS561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M Böhme, Sonstige at Hotel am Sophienpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Many thanks for visiting our Hotel am Sophienpark and thank you so much for providing us with such a wonderful feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time in our Hotel am Sophienpark so much. Concerning your description I guess you had a room on the fourth floor, since the apartments in the fifth floor show to the park side. Additionally we offer wonderful rooms with balcony to the park side and a splendid view into the huge garden. Could that be an option next time? However it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back in our world heritage city, yours Michael Böhme (managing director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

Nice hotel on top location in city centre. Parking possible close to hotel. Rooms are good and spacious with nice bathroom. Friendly staff. Breakfast has optional garden seating and is of good quality.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Axel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M Böhme, Sonstige at Hotel am Sophienpark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Many thanks for being our dear guest and for sharing your kind words. I am happy you enjoyed your time in the Sophienpark. Whenever you intend to discover our beautiful Baden-Baden and the Black Forest more in detail, we can provide you with lots of interesting infos. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, yours Michael Böhme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

If you want a 4 star then don’t come here. 4 stars usual brings facilities

There is no bar or place to quietly sit in an evening. We had to go out and sit at street cafes

There are garden seats but uncomfortable as they take away the Cushions on an evening

No room facilities eg mini bar or even a kettle or drinks

We like a cup of tea before bed but because there is no bar you can’t get a hot drink (there is a coffee machine in reception !!). This is not tea

Room towels are hand towels at best not bath towels and are past there best - typical of a 3 star not 4 star hotel

At breakfast you can’t help yourself so you get a plate of Mixed cheese and ham - not what you want, what they want to give you

All in all I would describe this hotel as

A basic (if clean and tidy) glorified B&B with the owners cutting costs in every area and providing a bed not a hotel.

If you want to stay on business it’s adequate but not for a couple on holiday to enjoy the place

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HarrogateHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M Böhme, Sonstige at Hotel am Sophienpark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Many thanks for having been our guest and for taking your time to write your comments about your recent stay. I am very sorry, that we did not meet your expectations. First of all, please communicate with us during your stay, so we can take care about all your wishes. Our service is always mentioned to be very helpful and polite. During the time of pandemic, we do not offer a buffet with open delis. If there is anything you desire for breakfast, please let us know and we do everything for your convenience. All the best wishes, yours Michael Böhme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews