We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place I have ever seen!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets
Ranked #18 of 18 Val d'Isere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I booked a room in this place thru a website from a private owner. I should have become suspicious when they only accepted a bank transfer and cash, but unfortunately I threw my considerations to the wind.
It began with the fact that I had to call the owner to find out whether he had received my bank transfer deposit. I didn't even receive a confirmation email or anything and had to do some detective work to find out the address. When we arrived, we had to ask 3 people and when we finally found the place, we couldn't get inside because we didn't know the entry code. Some customer service!
The whole building smells bad. We stayed in a unit meant for 4, but even for the two of us there was no space at all. The room smelled, the bed was disgusting and smelly, separate toilet and rest of bathroom, no towels or bed linen. We had to sleep under duvets with no covers! The room was dirty and there was hair that was neither mine nor my boyfriend's everywhere. The crazy thing is that it wasn't even cheap and we could have stayed in a much better place for the same amount!
I cried for four days and had a nervous breakdown after which we decided to leave. The owner was so arrogant to say that the shabbiness was 'designer' as if to imply I was an ignoramus who knew nothing of design. I've stayed at W hotels the world over, so I know what quality is. Nobody expects the Bourj in Val d'Isere, but I do expect a place to adhere to basic hygiene levels and have adequate bedding.
Please avoid this place, the owners ar clearly having a laugh at their guests' expense. I found this experience nothing but utterly humiliating and want to rid my memory of it.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, you'll deeply regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed here as a coach driver bringing a party of students on a ski holiday, the good bit is the location, close to lifts and free bus service. That is where the good ends, we stayed in a four person appartment, there was hardley room for two of us, no where to hang or store clothes or dry them for that matter, the shower head was not fastened to the wall, one set of curtains was not fixed to the wall, we repaired them. The kitchen was tiny and only room for one person at a time to prepair food. We had bunk beds one single bed and the sofa turned into a single bed, so no double bed at all. I am really pleased I did not pay for this, Dont bring your family here.
Just a quick mention about Val d' isere, the ski area;s are fantastic plenty of slopes for all abilities, the town is beautilful with plenty of shops resturants and bars, the only drawback, is it is bloody expensive.

Room Tip: Dont go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tidzadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Sub standard accommodation. Furthermore after a 5.55am pick-up I was charged 55euro's on my debit card card a 'so called' cleaning charge. The apartment was cleaner when I left than we I arrived!! Crystal ski don't want to know about my complaint and I am now nervous that this hotel have my card details and seem to have no issues with stealing from me!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mivvi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Spent a week in this 'hotel '( hostel). Baring in mind that I'm 18 and was expecting a budget holiday before I left i browsed through these reviews and went in with a positive mindset but i hate to admit it everyone who is reviewing is pretty accurate. First of all on arrival you are provided with linen , this is to be expected so I wasn't too bothered about this but then getting into my room with just thin blankets which i don't think have been washed , throughout the week i found myself pulling out very long hairs from this blanket which were clearly not mine. Also on arrival you are giving a cleaning list , when you leave the room you are expected to take the role of the cleaner and do tasks such as scrub the hotplates , sweep and mop the floor etc... which is frankly terrible , especially after paying £70 a night to stay there. As i was at this hotel for a ski holiday which means that I was going in and out 4 times on average every day and spending a week there the reception was open 3 times that i had saw throughout the duration of my stay . I could carry on and moan about other things like the hotel often smelling of weed but i will leave it at that and just generally say that you would be better off spending a extra hundred buck and going elsewhere . Don't worry though val d'isere is an amazing ski holiday and i'd recommend it to anyone :)

Room Tip: don't bother with this place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.2 km away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Chalets de Solaise
0.7 km away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
0.5 km away
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
Alpina Lodge - Val d'Isere
#29 of 39 in Val d'Isere
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Residence Odalys Les Hauts du Rogoney
1.3 km away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Daille
0.4 km away
Auberge Saint-Hubert
Auberge Saint-Hubert
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets

Address: Route de la Balme, Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Val d'Isere
Price Range: ₹ 6,033 - ₹ 16,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Les Verdets Hotel
Residence Les Jardins De Val Et Les Verdets France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing